BLOG TOUR**~**Covered in Coal by Silla Webb – Character Info, Review, Playlist, and GIVEAWAY!!!

Title: Covered in Coal (Buried Secrets #1)
Release Day: March 17, 2014
Genre: Contemporary Romance/Suspense
Amazon Rating: 4.7 stars

 

Carly Jo Simon believed that Colton Weston was her future, but he shattered her heart into tiny pieces. Just like any little girl would, she assumed her daddy would always be by her side. Unbelievably, he turned his back on her when she needed him most, leaving her with no one in her life to turn to for support. 
 
Without options, Carly runs away from the only home she’s ever known, leaving behind her heartache and the betrayal of the two men she loved most.



Seven years later, Carly reluctantly returns to Kentucky. Her daddy is dying of cancer and Colton is nothing like the boy she once loved and left. After her daddy passes, Carly must uproot her life in South Carolina and take control of Simon Coal Company, where she has no choice but face the pain of her past.



Can Carly keep her secrets buried deep beneath the black Kentucky coal and her heart safe from the fiery Colton Weston?

 
review

**A complimentary copy was provided by author for Blog Tour**

~~ 4 “Buried Secrets” Stars ~~

Holy Moly….can we say buried secrets!!!! This book was full of them. This is the debut novel by Silla Webb. I thought for a debut book this one was very well done. She captured the pain and torment that the characters felt and was able to make the reader feel exactly what they were feeling. I thought the storyline wasn’t exactly new to the NA Genre but what the focus of the storyline was , was new to me. I have never read a book that had Coal Mining as the background. It was actually very interesting. I liked that she created a story that kept my interest all the way through. The author kept revealing things that had me turning the pages faster and faster just see what was coming next.   I thought the pace of the story was well written. Nothing was rushed and nothing dragged on and I was extremely glad to see that Colton and Carly Jo didn’t just jump right back into a relationship because of their past. They both had things to overcome and work through so it was nice seeing that is exactly what the author did.

The reason I didn’t give this book a 5 star rating was because there were 2 aspects of the story that I don’t like to read or have in a book, when I read it. I will not tell you one of them, you will have to just read it and decide for yourself what you think. To me I thought there was a really fine line crossed. The other thing I absolutely don’t like in books are cliffhangers that have me saying “What the H*ll?” That is what this book did. I don’t mind minor cliffhangers where they are more like just the story needs to continue, but this one was not like that at all. I really wish there would’ve been a note in the book description, because then I would’ve waited for the next book to come out before reading it. Now with that said I did thoroughly enjoy this book and I am looking forward to the next book in the series, because I just feel that there are so many more secrets to come out 😉

I loved the characters Carly Jo and Colton. I thought there were great together and hope things work out for them down the road. Carly Jo was dealt a tough blow at the age of 17 and decided to run away to take charge of her own life. Things didn’t get any easier for Carly Jo once she left home, but she was a strong girl who persevered and became even stronger over time. She comes back home after being gone for 7 years and is put in charge of her Families Coal Mining company, because her father is sick and passes away. I loved that her coming home reconnected her with her sister Savannah, I think that relationship will be a saving factor for Carly Jo in the next book. Once Carly Jo comes home she runs into her ex-boyfriend….Colton. Holy Cow!!!! Talk about an Alpha Male!!! Whew, Colton had it in spades. I loved Colton….he was also truly broken and some secrets come out about the past and my heart broke for him and Carly Jo as well. I am not going to explain why and how Colton is broken because that would give away too much. You’ll just have to read the book for yourself.

As for secondary characters…..there are quite a few and they all play an intrical part in this story. I can’t really say who and why I liked them because it would give secrets away. I will say that there is one character that I really didn’t like and that was Drew!!! You’ll understand once you read this story. I was blown away at what came out about him. I was also in shock about how he treats Carly Jo in the end. I wanted to junk punch him!!!!

I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a second chance love story, that is built around lies, secrets and deceit. This book will definitely leaving you guessing as you turn the pages. If you aren’t a fan of cliffhangers then I would actually wait for book 2 to come out, because this one will leave you hanging big time!!!!

~Jennifer H.

buy-it-here
 


about-the-author

Silla Webb is a Kentucky native, raised in the heart of the coal fields. A coal truck driver’s daughter, and a railroader’s wife, the coal fields own a special place in her heart.

 

She is a work at home, Super Momma to three rowdy boys, who keep her on her feet from daylight to sunset. As a pass time from her everyday life, Silla started a blog-Momma’s Secret Book Obsession, for reviewing romance novels. From there, she realized that not only did she have a natural love for reading and reviewing, but she found that lost love of writing that she once had as a young girl.


When she isn’t conquering the world as a wife, momma and Super Woman, Silla loves to lay on the front porch swing and read while sipping sweet tea, just passin’ the day away.


 

Enter the GIVEAWAY here ———>>a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

