BLOG TOUR**~**Lost in Us by Layla Hagen – Review, Teaser, and GIVEAWAY!!!

LostinUsTourBanner2

Lost in Us by Layla Hagen
Publication date: February 17th 2014
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Serena has learned to live with her past, locking her secrets and nightmares deep inside her. But when her boyfriend of six years abruptly leaves her, she’s catapulted back into pain, nursing a broken heart. When indulging in mountains of chocolate doesn’t work, Serena decides the best way to deal with her shattered heart is to indulge in something else. A rebound . . .

The night she swaps her usual Sprite for tequila, she meets James. The encounter is breathtaking.
Electrifying.
And best not repeated.

James is a successful entrepreneur in Silicon Valley. A man who has amassed a fortune by taking risks. A man who has shunned commitment completely, and still does. He’s the exact opposite of Serena. But sometimes opposites attract. Sometimes they give in to burning passion. Sometimes opposites are perfect for each other.

James is everything her damaged soul could want. His kisses are intoxicating, his touch out of this world. He makes her forget. He grants her peace from her pain. But as they grow closer, Serena discovers she isn’t the only one with a past. James carries the scars of a past much darker than hers. One that has left him damaged, hurt, and wary of love. A past that gives him the power to shatter her.

Now James and Serena must find a way to mend one another. Or risk losing each other forever.

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

 

??????????????????????????????????

review

**A Complimentary copy was provided by author for Blog Tour**

~~ 4 “Drama Filled” Stars ~~

If you are a fan of a book that is full of Drama and Angst….then this is the book for you. Lost in Us had so much drama that by the end I was just praying for a HEA. Now with that said I loved this book. I thought the pace and flow was really great. Even though the storyline is similar to other books out there, this one still felt different to me because of the amount of drama built into the story. I really liked Layla’s writing style, I only wish she would’ve written this book in Dual POV. There were a lot of times I was dying to know what James was thinking. Before reading this book, I would suggest you read the prequel Lost. I know it says that Lost can be read before or after, but I read it before and I think it helped build a connection to the characters that I don’t think would’ve been there without it. Lost in Us jumps right into the story and James and Serena meeting and hooking up. If you are not a fan of the insta-love/attraction type story then you for sure need to read Lost first. (Lost is told over an 8 year time frame and you really get to know the characters and what has broken them both so deeply.) This story is truly a roller coaster on your emotions. My heart was all over the place. The main reason that I couldn’t give this book a 5 star rating was because I felt that the drama and angst kind of dragged on for to long. By the end of the book I was getting sick and tired of the push and pull James and Serena had going on. (More Serena then James) I would’ve liked to see more of their story of them together and how they worked to help each other get over their pasts. But with that said I still thoroughly enjoyed this book and it definitely kept my attention all the way through. I will say I was also thrilled with how the author ended this story, I thought it was perfect.

James and Serena have to be the 2 most broken characters I have read about in a long time. I truly didn’t think either of these 2 were going to overcome their issues. James and Serena are actually very similar in the fact that what happened to them in the past is very similar, but the way they each dealt with this issue was completely different. Honestly on the outside James and Serena couldn’t be more different, but like they always say opposites attract….and boy did these two attract 😉 Their physical chemistry was off the charts!!!! I will say that I liked Serena in the beginning, but by the end she was starting to grate on my nerves. I wanted to smack her on the head. I understood her feelings about risk taking and why she continued to push James away, but James did everything in his power to prove to her that he cared and loved her. Her final reason for pushing James away in the end I thought was just foolish. I can’t explain what I mean because it would give it away, but let me just say I was glad that she finally came to her senses. As for James….I LOVED him. Yes he was your typical commitment phobe and player but he totally won me over with his actions in the book. There was one spot earlier on that James did something I wasn’t happy with and that is one spot I wish we had James’s POV, but it was explained later and I was able to move on from there. I loved that James was a risk taker, but was also willing to do whatever to make Serena happy and make her dreams come true. (Whenever I hear the name Willy Wonka, I will always think of James) You need to read the book to know what I mean 😉

The secondary characters in this book were fabulous. Dani, Jess, and Parker were my favorites. Jess was a great BFF to Serena and I loved their banter and the bond they have. Each of these characters added a great aspect to this story and helping James and Serena become better people and couple. I am looking forward to reading about Parker and Jess’s story in the next book.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of a love story with a lot of drama and angst.

~Jennifer H.

 

buy-it-here

B&N  ~  Free prequel  ~ Amazon

about-the-author

My name is Layla Hagen and I am a New Adult Contemporary Romance author.

I fell in love with books when I was nine years old, and my love affair with stories continues even now, many years later.

I write romantic stories and can’t wait to share them with the world.

And I drink coffee. Lots of it, in case the photo didn’t make it obvious enough

 

http://laylahagen.com/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7520984.Layla_Hagen

https://www.facebook.com/LaylaHagenBooks

https://twitter.com/laylahagen

Giveaway!!!

Open INTL – Enter here for a chance to win a $25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal cash (Winner’s choice) —–>> a Rafflecopter giveaway

16 comments

Leave a Reply

