BLOG TOUR**~**Home on the Ranch by Joyce Gibbons

Cover Designed By: Melissa Gill @ MGBookCovers
<!–[if supportFields]> SEQ CHAPTER \h \r 1<![endif]–><!–[if supportFields]><![endif]–>Everything
was going according to schedule. The exclusive vacation ranch was to open in a
couple of weeks. Amy, the sole owner since her husband’s death the prior year,
was determined to make the ranch a success.
 
Having vowed to never love again, Amy was frightened when she
began to have feelings for Chad, the trail guide she hired for the summer.
During a blackmail attempt by a voice from the past, Amy finds that there is a
lot more to Chad than meets the eye. Chad helps to catch the scumbag trying to
blackmail Amy and in the process nearly gets himself killed.
 
When Amy thought Chad had been shot, she realized it was too late
to try to push Chad away. She was already completely in love with him. Can she
put aside her fears and love again? Can she give her heart completely to
another man?
goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
review

**ARC Provided by author in exchange for an Honest Review**

 ~~ 3.5 Stars ~~

If you are looking for that straight forward not a lot of drama or angst second chance at love type story, then this is the book for you.  I enjoyed the book and story but it didn’t WOW me.  I felt that the lack of drama and angst kind of dulled the story for me.  I am one of those types of readers who likes to have my heartstrings pulled while reading a story.  I like a book to touch on all of my emotions.  Although the author did add the element of suspense, which did keep my attention enough for me to finish the book.  She even added a little shocker in the end that I didn’t see coming.  I thought the flow of the book was well done and this book was well written, but I did find that the author put a little too much detail in the book that it slowed down the pace of the book to me.  There were some things I felt could’ve been left out and it wouldn’t have changed the effect of the story.  I also thought that the length of the chapters could’ve been shorter.  This book only had 12 chapters in it but they were some really long chapters….I just thought if those were to have been broken down in to more chapters then the pace of the book might have sped up a little also.

This story is about Amy who inherits a ranch because she tragically loses her husband and the ranch was left to her.  So this story is all about how she plans to carry out the dream her and her husband had to turn the ranch into a vacation spot for the summer.  This is how she meets Chad.  Amy had to hire the staff for the ranch and Chad was one of the applicants.  Chad also suffered a loss of someone close to him and that is what led him to the ranch.  He was trying to escape the memories of his past.  We do find out about their past pretty early in the story, but what I did like, is that even though these 2 characters were damaged from tragedy, the author didn’t linger on it.  Yes it took Amy awhile to finally open up her heart again, but it was done differently then we see in other books.  I didn’t find it annoying that she kept fighting her feelings….I thought the pace of their relationship was well executed and moved along at a believable pace.  I liked Amy’s character….she wasn’t whiney or b*tchy.  She didn’t annoy me at all in this book.  I felt that she was a strong person after everything she went through in the past and some of the stuff that comes out in this story.  I also liked Chad’s character, but I will say that he didn’t have me swooning like most other cowboys I have read about.  I will say that I felt that their conversations felt somewhat forced throughout the book….maybe it is the writing style, I really don’t know.  They just didn’t sound natural.  And that went for all the conversations with all the characters.

I liked all of the supporting characters.  There are really too many for me to list them all, but I loved each part they played in this story.  You could tell throughout the story that they were truly loyal and loved Amy and were willing to do whatever they could to help her in any situation.  ( That is actually tested big time in the story 😉 )

I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for that easy read with very little drama or angst.  This book will leave you with a smile on your face in the end.  It makes you believe that everyone can find love a second time around.

~Jennifer H.

 
buy-it-here
 
Amazon * B&N * Kobo
about-the-author
I am a lifelong resident of the small town of Cave City, Kentucky where I
hold down a full time job as office manager, working with my gorgeous husband,
Larry, in our HVAC company every day. God has blessed us with four wonderful
children, who in turn, have given us a gift of fourteen beautiful, exciting,
energetic, brilliant and delightful grandchildren, one very special
grandson-in-law, and the cutest and sweetest great grandson in the whole world!
Each one is so unique and so delightful in every way, and so loved. I thank God
for my beautiful Christian family and for the many blessings he has bestowed
upon us.
I began writing in April of 2000. My very first novel, “Home On The
Ranch” was released in 2001. It was so exciting to see my name on the
cover of a book. Hooked beyond belief, I continued to write, not only novels,
but children’s books as well. Check out the novels/books page and the
children’s books page to view my published work and read summaries of the
titles. As well as writing novels and books for children, I also enjoy writing
songs so don’t forget to check out the song page too.
My favorite activities are reading, taking long walks, horseback riding,
playing with my grandchildren, and of course, Writing! I find writing to be so
much fun, full of adventure and excitement.
Leave a Reply

