BLOG TOUR**~**Finding Solace by Barbara Speak – Review, Teasers, and GIVEAWAY!!!

Title: Finding Solace
Author: Barbara Speak
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: November 24th, 2013

FindingSolaceFB2

Sadie Warren is a walking contradiction. The confidence she wears on the outside is only to cover the scars that are imbedded on her soul. Coming out of an abusive relationship where she was stripped of her security and confidence, she chooses to bury it under every man she gives her body to. After one intoxicated night that she will never remember in its entirety, everything begins to change. Being seen more for her positive attributes and less for her faults, Sadie arises from the dark and into a place she feels safe. But with that comes a chain of events that blur the lines of everything she thought she needed and everything she’s beginning to want.

Will fear keep her from the one thing she believes she desires most or will fate take a turn unexpectedly and change everything?

Add to GoodReads

review

**ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review**

~~ 3.5 Stars ~~

I am going to start by saying that this review is kind of difficult for me to write.  The reason being I have some serious mixed feelings about this book.  I did enjoy the book, but I didn’t love it.  I’ll admit I was nervous going into the book because I kept seeing that it is a love triangle, and I openly admit I am not a fan of triangles.  ( I try to avoid them at all cost…lol )  I am glad that the idea of it being a triangle didn’t scare me off, because this book isn’t your typical triangle.  Yes there is 1 girl and 2 guys, but the heroine is never with both men at the same time.  So to me that made this triangle tolerable.  To me the only time the triangle came into play is when she had to make a decision on which guy to spend her life with.  I will however not tell you the answer to that question.  You will have to read the book to find that out 😉  Let me just say I was extremely happy with the way this book ended.  I truly felt that Sadie’s journey came full circle and I thought she made the right decision for herself and her future.  I thought the storyline was well developed and flowed rather well, what I had trouble with was the length of the book.  This book is 551 pages, and to me that is a long time to keep any readers attention.  I found that this book was kind of slow in spots.  I felt that it could’ve been condensed in spots without losing any information of the storyline.  What I did  like was that this books characters were very well developed and you really felt like you were apart of their group of friends.  This book didn’t lack in emotion at all.  I definitely felt a wide range of emotions while reading this book.  Now normally I wouldn’t ever say this but I thought this book was mild when it came to drama and angst.  I thought being a triangle we would’ve seen more drama, but because the 2 guys aren’t really in the book at the same time we didn’t get the drama factor.  I kind of missed it.

This story is truly an inside look in to the Journey Sadie must take to become a better person for herself.  We find out Sadie was in an abusive relationship in high school which has left her broken and scarred.  The way Sadie handled this wasn’t in the best way.  I will say that right off the bat I loved Sadie’s character but then once she met Colt, I have to say that she started to aggravate me.  She was a strong person and was willing to stand up for herself and also had no problem putting Colt in his place, but as soon as Colt would whisper sweet nothings in her ear she would melt like butter on a hot day.  She backed down so many times I wanted to smack her.  But as the story unfolded we actually got to see a stronger and better Sadie in the long run.  I see that the way she was with Colt was just a stepping stone for her to become the better person.  As for Colt….I had a real love/hate relationship with him for the whole book.  One minute he was the sweetest guy and the next I wanted to junk punch him.  His part of the story is the first 50% of the book, until he resurfaces later in the story (to add that little drama effect)  By the time Ash was introduced into the story I was ready to say bye bye to Colt.  I was glad that Colt’s behavior with Sadie was explained later in the story.  It made me like him in the end of the book.  As for Asher ( Ash )…..he made this book for me.  I loved him.  Talk about someone who was to good to be true.  He felt that Sadie was a princess and he treated her like one.    I loved the second half of this book.  You really do need to read this book to experience Ash’s true effect 🙂

This book was stocked full with amazing secondary characters.  There are so many that I truly can’t single out just one or two that I liked the best.  Sadie truly had some really great friends.  I also liked that we got mini side stories for some of these characters so we got to watch what was happening in their lives as well.

Would I recommend this book…… YES.  I thought it was an interesting story.  So if you like triangles and books that are on the longer side, then this book is for you.

~Jennifer H.

about-the-author

I am a hard working wife and mother of two of the best kids ever. I spend my days sneaking in any reading that I can. When the idea of Finding Solace came to me, I had no choice but to get it out of my head and put it into yours.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00029]
buy-it-here

Enter the GIVEAWAY here ——>> a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

