BLOG TOUR**~**Come To Me Quietly by A.L. Jackson – Review, Excerpt, Review, and GIVEAWAY!!!

Title: Come To Me Quietly (The Closer to You Series, Book 1)
Author: A.L. Jackson
Release Date: January 7, 2014
Genre: New Adult Romance
Blog Tour hosted by: Shh Moms Reading, Literary Mania Reviews, and Brandee’s Book Endings

CTMQ banner

From the acclaimed bestselling author of Lost to You and When We Collide comes a new adult novel of one woman’s obsession: a man who’s as passionate as he is elusive—and as tempting as he is trouble…

Aleena Moore is haunted by Jared Holt. It’s been six years since she’s seen her brother’s best friend, the self-destructive bad boy she secretly loved in high school. As the years pass, she knows it’s time to move on. Time to decide between a practical nursing degree and her true dream as an artist. Time to get over Jared and give another guy a chance…
Just when she opens her heart to her friend Gabe, Aly returns home to find Jared sleeping on her couch. The teenage boy she loved has grown into a man she can’t resist. Covered in tattoos and lost in rage, he’s begging to be saved from his demons—the memories of the day he destroyed his family. As the two reconnect, their passion is hot enough to torch Aly’s judgment. But can she risk her future for a man who lives on the edge of destruction?

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

review

**ARC provided by author via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review**~~4 .5 Tortured Soul Stars~~

A. L. Jackson has done it again.  She has found a way to create a story that is compelling, heartwarming, and heartbreaking all in one.  Her writing and storytelling is amazing….you can’t help but be sucked into her books.  This book was no different.  I will say that if you are looking for a lighthearted feel good second chance love story….this IS NOT that book.  This book will pull at every heart string and emotion you have.  This is a story about second chances, but also redemption and forgiveness.  Like all of A.L.’s books you can’t help but feel everything her characters feel.  She has such a way of writing her books that every emotion and feeling the characters feel, you as the reader feel them too.  I loved how she incorporated flashbacks into this story also.  The book flowed perfectly.  I also loved that it was told in Dual POV….you never had to guess what either character was thinking or feeling.  The reason I didn’t give it a full 5 stars was because I felt that it was a little too much “In your Head” dialogue.  I wanted to see a little more interaction between Aly and Jared.  I also wished that the secrets that Aly and Jared were harboring would’ve come out a little sooner.  We did get hints as the book progressed, both in real time and through the flashbacks, and you can pretty much guess what happened to Jared in the past, but the details don’t fully come out until pretty close to the end.  I just would’ve liked that out a little sooner. But never the less this book was still a very powerful read and one I did truly enjoy reading.

As for the characters…..Jared….WOW talk about a tortured soul !!!!  He was so broken and truly is throughout the whole book.  Something happened to Jared when he was 16 years old and he has never been able to move past it.  He harbored such guilt, that he doesn’t feel he deserves to be happy or to give or receive love from anyone.  My heart broke for him on more then one occasion.  I truly fell in love with Jared but for the normal reasons I do when I fall for a Hero in a book.  He had his swoony moments, but I couldn’t help falling for him for all the pain and torture he felt he deserved….he was a man feeling so much pain, but still had a heart of gold down deep.  It’s so hard to describe what I am really feeling about Jared, but you just need to meet him for yourself by reading this book.

“I’m a fucking mess, Aly, but without you, I’m a disaster.”….Jared

Aly was a phenomenal heroine…..she was innocent and naive, but still strong!!!  She was able to see the best in Jared and wasn’t willing to give up on him.  She was also able to stand up to him and anyone else when she needed to.  I loved that about her.  I felt that the pace that A.L. Jackson took with their relationship was a great one.  There were too many factors going on between these two that you couldn’t rush them into anything.  I will say that even though while reading this book, most people would say that these two characters are so mismatched, but truly these two were so well matched that, it truly makes you believe in Soul Mates.  It’s hard to explain without giving things away, but I truly believe to get the full effect of their bond and feelings you need to read this book for yourself.

“It was always you, Jared.  Always.  I can’t remember a day in my life when I didn’t love you.”….Aly

” I see beauty and pain.  Joy and sorrow.  I see the good and I see the bad….and I love it all.”….Aly

I am truly looking forward to the next book in the series.  I felt that there were some things left unanswered and things I want to see happen.  This book does end on a Happy For Now type ending.  I felt the characters were in a great place at the end.  You just know that there is more to their story.  This isn’t a book that you need to wait for book 2 to be released.

I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a second chance love story between a tortured, tattooed bad boy and the sweet and kind good girl.  Just know that this book is extremely emotional.  It truly pulls at every emotion a person has.  This is the 5th book I have read by A.L. Jackson and I have to say she is one of my favorite authors to read when I am looking for an emotional story.

~Jennifer H.

 
buy-it-here
                            Barnes & Noble  ~  iTunes  ~  Amazon ~  Kobo 
 
 

Watch the Come To Me Quietly Book Trailer HERE!!!

excerpt
I rubbed a nervous hand across my tense jaw, listening as the shower in Aly’s bathroom sprang to life.
God, the girl was dangerous. A minute ago she had quietly slipped across the hall from her bedroom to the bathroom, shooting me a shy smile as she passed. Crimson colored her face with a ridiculous blush, and her hair was all a mess because my fingers had been tangled in it all night. She wore the same tank and shorts that had been discarded on her floor.
My knee bounced because I was thinking about Aly peeling them from her body before she climbed under the hot sheets of water in the shower.
Closing my eyes, I fought for restraint.
It was Saturday, which meant no work for me, and I had no idea what I was going to do with my sorry ass all day. Aly had to work. How pathetic was it that I didn’t want her to go?CTMQ pic
The shower shut off, and a few minutes later Aly emerged from the bathroom wrapped in a towel. She rushed to her room and clicked the door shut behind her.
I shot off the couch and sought the isolation of the bathroom. I didn’t think I could handle sitting by Christopher any longer, hanging onto this secret that felt like a million tons on my shoulders. So much of me wanted to shout it, to scream out that I had touched beauty, that for a few minutes I had felt more than the nothingness that was my life. Years of isolation did that to a person, and when emotions were freed, it was hard to keep them contained.
But instinctively I knew to keep my mouth shut.
When I left, I wouldn’t leave Aly ashamed, couldn’t bear to shed light on the sickness I was tainting her with. This would be our secret, our fantasy, and for just a little while, I was giving in to it.
Steam filled the small space, and the mirror was coated, hiding me in the misty haze. I swept my hand across the surface and looked at my reflection in the foggy mirror.
Hate spun through my insides and throbbed down my limbs.
What the hell did she see?
When I heard her bedroom door open, I quickly opened the bathroom door, wanting to catch a glimpse of her before she left for the day. Feigning apathy, I slowed when I stepped out into the hall.
She stood at the bar, gathering her things.
“Have to work today, huh?” I asked. As if I didn’t already know.
She dropped her face, looking all shy and innocent and perfect, and then shoved her wallet into her purse. “Yeah. I’m just working the short lunch shift, though, so I’ll be off a little after one.” Gathering up the mass of dark hair from her neck, Aly twisted it into a ponytail. “It shouldn’t be too bad,” she said.
She glanced up at me with awareness in her eyes, as if she knew exactly what I was thinking, that I couldn’t stand to watch her leave. She knew I was going to be counting the hours before she returned and she even knew how much I absolutely hated the fact that I would be. The thing that twisted me all up was Aly looking as if she felt the same, like she was dying to bury those fingers in my skin.
I fisted my hand. It took everything I had not to push her up against the wall and kiss her senseless.
Considering Christopher was sitting on the couch playing video games, I figured that was a really fucking bad idea. I sat back and played it cool.
“I guess I’ll see you later,” Aly said as she heaved her ridiculously huge purse onto her shoulder.
I barely lifted my chin, blithe and indifferent. “Sure. . .drive safe.”
She turned away, stole a glance back at me, then turned to leave. “See you after work, Christopher.”
Furiously he thumbed at his controller. “Bye,” he said as if he couldn’t be disturbed long enough to notice she was there.
Aly walked away, her dark ponytail swishing along her back. She opened the door and bright sunlight burst around her frame as she stepped out into the day.
I inched forward to the end of the hall. I realized I was standing there like an idiot, watching the space she’d just taken up as she snapped the door shut behind her.
Shit.
“You better watch yourself, man.” The warning dripped low and slow through Christopher’s lips, hardness coiled tightly in the words.
Taken aback, I blinked hard and turned my attention to where he sat with his focus trained entirely on the TV. I swallowed down the pool of saliva that gathered at the back of my throat. “What are you talking about?”
Incredulous laughter seeped from Christopher, and he slowly shook his head in disbelief. “You think I haven’t noticed the way you’ve been looking at my little sister?” He cut his eyes to me, scrutinizing me in clear disgust, before he tore them back to the TV. “I wasn’t joking when I said her room was off limits. I just didn’t think I’d have to spell it out for you.”
I tried to rein in the panic that jack-hammered in my brain. Guilt hit me hard, but not hard enough to keep me away from Aly. My body still burned with the residual of her touch. Nothing would stop me from going back for more.
Just a little more.
I shook my head and forced a frown that could only speak of my own distaste. “We’re just friends, Christopher. We’ve always been. You know that.” The words pushed out with the force of my faked revulsion, blended with the solemn oath. “She’s like a sister to me.” My tongue burned with the lie, and this time the guilt was consuming.
I was just going to stand here and lie straight faced to my best friend?
He will hate me before I’m gone.

Be sure to enter the COME TO ME QUIETLY Blog Tour Giveaway!!

Giveaway

Grand Prize: A.L. Jackson Complete Signed Paperback Collection (all six titles) + Come To Me Quietly Poster and swag

Second Prize: Come To Me Quietly Collection, which includes a signed copy of Come To Me Quietly, a Come To Me Quietly poster, keychain, and custom bookmark

Third Prize: A.L. Jackson Fun Pack stuffed full of A.L. Jackson book swag

Fourth Prize: Audiobook Gift Set from Audible.com of The Regret Series (Lost To You, Take This Regret & If Forever Comes)

Enter HERE ——->> a Rafflecopter giveaway

And don’t miss the DAILY blog tour giveaways on A.L. Jackson’s Facebook accounts! All kinds of fun stuff will be given away ~ ebooks, gift cards, and much more! EVERY DAY from January 7th – February 7th!!

https://www.facebook.com/aljacksonauthor

2 comments

Leave a Reply

