BLOG TOUR**~**Always You by Missy Johnson – Review, Excerpt, and GIVEAWAY!!!

Book: Always You
Author: Missy Johnson
Genre: New Adult Contemporary
Tour Organized by: Indie Sage, LLC

always

I was thrilled when I was offered a graduate teaching position at the prestigious Tennerson Girls Academy. At twenty-three, this would be my first ‘real’ teaching assignment. Working at the elite boarding school, home to the daughters of some of the wealthiest people in the world, was a great opportunity that I would’ve been stupid always youto pass up.

One week into my new job, and I suddenly had no idea why I chose high school…I was a seventeen year old boy once, I knew how teenage girls behaved.

You can’t even imagine the hell of trying to teach thirty, hormonal driven seventeen year olds who have been cooped up, away from any male contact.

I could handle the whispers every time I entered the room. I could even handle the obvious attempts at gaining my attention. What I couldn’t handle was her…

Rich bitches and way too many rules. Was it any wonder that I hated school?

Add to that the lack of male contact, and I was going insane. Like literally. I wasn’t used to this. A year ago I was normal. I had a boyfriend, friends and a loving family. There is nothing normal about me anymore, and nobody here lets me forget that.

My name is Wrenn, and I’m only here because my aunt took me in after what happened, but my aunt also happens to be the headmistress of this academy…Can you see my problem?

I’m hated for my lack of money, and I’m hated for who my Aunt is.

Then he arrived. Dalton Reed. My new history teacher.

Slowly, he helped me see that even in the worst situations, there is always hope.

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

excerpt

“It’s just my mom and I. Dad died when I was fifteen. I’ve always wanted to be a teacher, though originally I wanted to go with elementary.”

“Why did you go with high school?” I asked curiously.

He shrugged. “Last minute decision,” he said with a smile.

I laughed. “Oh, I bet you’re regretting that now,” I teased.

“I have no idea what you mean.” He looked at me innocently, and then his face broke into a smile. “Okay, teaching teenage girls is pure hell.”

I giggled. “Come on, it can’t be that bad. A couple of hundred girls, all thinking you’re a god? That’s got to boost the ego.”

“A couple of hundred girls all under the age of eighteen,” he corrected dryly.

“I’m not,” I said lightly, surprised by what was coming out of my mouth.

“Yeah, well you’re the exception,” he said.

The exception. I liked being the exception. I met his gaze, his eyes burning into mine. My face began to heat. How could I not read into things when he was staring at me like that? I felt naked under his gaze.

review

** ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review**

~~4 Sweet Stars~~

This book turned out not being what I was expecting it to be.  I don’t mean that in a bad way at all….I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  When I read the synopsis, it intrigued me because it was on a Taboo subject….Student/ Teacher relationship.  I have read multiple stories with that theme and for some reason they pull me in.  This one though was different from the others I have read.  The student/teacher theme kind of ended up taking a backseat to another theme in the story.  As the story goes on we find out a secret about Dalton and the story kind focuses on that more then the taboo relationship him and Wrenn have.  Don’t get me wrong, this book does have the taboo relationship in it, but it didn’t feel wrong to me really.  I can’t explain why, it just didn’t.  Maybe it was because the teaching job Dalton takes is short term, or the fact that their ages weren’t that far apart from each other, or even the fact that Wrenn was technically supposed to be in college, but because of a tragic event that sends her to her Aunt, she is forced to repeat part of her Senior year.  I didn’t get that creepy off limits vibe from this story.  This book actually turned out to be a very sweet love story.  This story turned out to be about finding Hope and living each day like it’s your last.

” You can’t live life waiting for things to go wrong, because then you’re not really living.  What matters most is living each day you do have like it might be your last.”

To me that quote really summed up the overall theme of this story and of the characters.  I really liked Wrenn and Dalton.  I felt they were both strong characters.  Both have see and gone through so much tragedy and heartache in their short lives, it’s a wonder how they were able to stay so strong and have a positive outlook on life.  I liked the pace the author took with their relationship.  She took it slow and even at one point had Dalton rethinking everything, but once they actually realized that they wanted to be together, things took off from there.  I really thought they complimented each other well.  They were also a great support system to each other when they needed to be.  I liked how the story ended….I felt the epilogue was perfect for this story.

We also met some great side characters….Kassia (Wrenn BFF), Layna (Wrenn’s Aunt), and Mary ( Dalton’s Mom)  These three ladies were wonderful supporters to both Wrenn and Dalton.  You will just have to read the story to see what I mean.

The only thing I felt was a negative to the story was that the taboo relationship kind of got swept under the rug.  I thought the reaction of Wrenn’s Aunt and the school board wasn’t really realistic.  They were all a little too calm about it.  I will say that I ended up enjoying this book so much because once I realized the book wasn’t going to focus so much on the taboo subject, I read it as the love story I think it was meant to be.  This book really made me think at the end, as to what I would’ve done in Wrenn’s position, once Dalton’s secret is revealed.  I hope at 18/23 I would’ve been just as strong as she is.

I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a heartwarming sweet love story, with a touch of taboo and drama.  This book was actually a lot steamier then I was expecting also…but I am not complaining 😉

~Jennifer H.

99

buy-it-here

Amazon UK  ~  Nook  ~  Kobo  ~  Amazon US


about-the-author

Missy lives in a small town in Central Victoria with her husband, and her confused pets (a dog who think she’s a cat, a cat who thinks he’s a dog…you get the picture).
When she’s not writing, she can usually be found looking for something to read.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Missy-Johnson/618217221528253
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6984258.Missy_Johnson

Always You Giveaway

Missy Johnson is offering 5 ecopies of Always You as well a $25 Amazon GC. The giveaway is open internationally. Giveaway ends at 11:59 PM 02/01/2014.

Enter here ——>> a Rafflecopter giveaway

One comment

Leave a Reply

