BLOG TOUR**~**X-Treme Boys Series by Kay Manis – Excerpts, Reviews,and GIVEAWAY!!!!

Kay Manis Blog Tour Banner

Skater Boy Synopsis

For 25 year old attorney, Hindley Hagen, life is all about staying one step ahead of the game. Avoiding surprises and keeping people at a distance is the only way she has to protect herself from the painful scars and shattered memories of her past. When Hindley is offered a new position at her prestigious Austin law firm as sports agent for pro skateboarder, Rory Gregor, she’s ready for the new challenge but completely unprepared for the man who captures her heart. Suddenly, Hindley is thrust into a world where protecting all their secrets could cost her everything; her family, her career, and maybe even her life.

Professional skateboarder and X Games royalty, Rory Gregor knows what it’s like to be at the top. But after two years of bad decisions and one-night-stands, he’s having to make a comeback he never anticipated. Hiring a new agent may be what his team thinks he needs to rebuild his career, but what if it costs him his heart in the process? Just when he thinks he’s posed for a comeback, secrets from his past threaten to ruin his chance for gold and a new love. In a sport where trust means everything, this time… it may not be enough.

review

**ARC Provided by author in exchange for an Honest Review**

~~4 Solid Stars~~

This was my first Kay Manis book, and I will say for a debut novel, she did a really great job on this book.  I thoroughly enjoyed it.  I thought the story flowed well and really told any interesting story.  I have never read a book about a Professional Skateboarder before, I learned some interesting facts about the sport.  This story kept me intrigued throughout the whole book.  I really loved the characters!!!!   My only real negative about the story was that I felt somethings kind fell by the wayside.  In the beginning of the book we meet Hindley and her Step sister and there is a story there but after like the first 1/4 of the book we never heard from the step sister again.  I just felt that she should’ve come into the story again somewhere.  Maybe she will in book 2 🙂  Also I felt the ending was kind of abrupt.  I understand it is supposed to be a cliffhanger/to be continued ending but for some reason, it just didn’t seem to end at the right spot.  Even with that said I still enjoyed this book and will continue on to the next book to see what happens between Hindley and Rory.

As I said before I truly enjoyed the characters in this book.  We met Hindley, Rory, Dana, Leif, Jack and Kara (Leif’s parents) and Paul (Hindley’s Stepdad).  We also met Geneva (Hindley’s Stepsister) but I didn’t like her at all and really don’t want to waste any time on her.  Hindley and Rory were both broken souls who really had low self esteem.  Neither one of them thought they were good enough for each other.  I liked watching how they each proved that the other was worthy for them and of love.  Their relationship has it’s ups and downs, but the downs were because both of them jump to conclusions due to their low self esteem.  It truly was sad to see how down they were on themselves.  We learned why Rory was down on himself and what happened in his past, but we really didn’t find out what happened to Hindley.  We got glimpses that something major happened in the past, but never found out everything.  I am hoping that comes to light in book 2.  One thing I will say, is that if you are not a fan on inner monologue then this book probably isn’t the one for you.  There was a lot of inner monologue.  Both Rory and Hindley talk to themselves.  At times I thought it really wasn’t necessary but it didn’t irritate me that much.  I loved that this story was told in Dual POV, because it was great seeing how both felt and reacted to certain things.  As for the other characters…I truly loved them.  Dana was hysterical…she had me laughing throughout most of the book.  But with that said she also knew how to be serious when she needed to be.  She was such a strong support system for Hindley.  I love a loyal and strong side kick 🙂  Leif, Jack and Kara were all great support systems for Rory as well.  They would do anything for him and they pretty much did.  From what we learn about Paul in this book I would have to say he is a good guy.  I am hoping to see more of him in book 2 also.

I would recommend this book/series to anyone looking for a fun and sexy love story about a shy girl and a famous skateboarder.  I will say that if you do read this book, you will definitely want book 2 ready to start right after.

~Jennifer H.

 

••••••••••••

My Skater Boy Synopsis

Find out the dramatic conclusion to Book 1 of the X-Treme Boys Series, Skater Boy.

For the first time in her life, Hindley Hagen has something she’s always looked for, unconditional love. As the attorney and sports agent for X Games golden boy, Rory Gregor, she’s worked hard to help him make a comeback in a professional sport that isn’t always so forgiving. This time, he’s won more than just a gold medal, he’s captured her heart. But now, she’s trapped, caught in the snare of a man playing a deadly game. She must choose, protect the one man who’s made her come alive for the first time in her life or risk losing everything she’s worked hard for, including him. To save them both, Hindley must do the unthinkable or face a life without the one thing Rory Gregor has finally given her; hope. But protecting them means her own demons may surface and from that, there is no recovery. Hindley must learn the hard way, in love and life, there is no such thing as a safe secret.

Trust isn’t something that comes naturally to Rory Gregor. Even his own professional achievements as an X Games multi-gold medalist can’t wash away a childhood filled with abuse, which has left him with a lifetime of insecurities and self-loathing. But now, he’s finally found a woman who makes him feel the one thing in life he never thought possible-smart. With Hindley Hagen by his side, he’s skating better than ever, securing deals that could make them both rich. Yet something is off. Just as he gets inside the walls she’s constructed to guard herself, she pulls away again. She’s hiding something. But then, so is he.

As their need to protect one another grows to escalating heights with deadly consequences, will Hindley and Rory finally find the future together they so richly deserve? Or, will they discover the one thing that could destroy them both forever is actually each other? Find out in this exciting conclusion to the first book in the X-Treme Boys Series, Skater Boy.

review

**ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review**

~~4 Skaterboy Stars ~~

“On our own, Rory and I were broken and abused.  But together, we were perfect.”

Well I have to say I thought this was a great conclusion to Rory and Hindley’s story.  I truly feel the above quote sums up this book/story to a T.   This book starts off exactly where book 1 stopped.  I loved that there wasn’t any time lost between books.  We learn a lot in this book.  I have to say I probably enjoyed this book a little more then book 1 because this book had everything.  It continued that great love story, but we also got some suspense, some lies, and some betrayal.  Just enough of each to keep you intrigued and wanting to turn the pages faster to see how it all works out.  There was really only one thing I was a little disappointed in with the story line….there is something that was revealed or brought to light about something from Hindley’s past that we never got the conclusion for.  It’s hard for me to really explain without spoiling anything but let me just say I wish I would’ve known what happened to this bad person in the end.  I will say that I absolutely loved the Epilogue in this book.  I felt it really closed Hindley and Rory’s story and I was glad to see how everything turned out for them in the end.  I was also glad to see we got closure on Geneva.  As bizarre as it may sound, since I hated her throughout all of book 1 and most of book 2, I wouldn’t mind reading a story about her (and maybe Jeremy ?)  Anyway….like I said before I really enjoyed this book and storyline.

As I said before, we learn a lot about both Hindley and Rory in this installment.  The things we find out about Hindley are just horrible.  My heart broke for her on more then 1 occasion.  What she had to endure during her college years was horrifying, but sadly, it’s something that I know happens in real life 😦  That was one thing about this book and characters….Kay really made them seem real and believable.  I felt the scenarios they encounter were truly believable and could happen in everyday life.  This book ( more then book 1 ) really touched on some tough subjects….But I thought the way Kay Manis handled them was perfect.  It’s really hard to explain my thoughts on this, but all I can say is read the book and get the true experience for yourself.  We also learned more about Rory’s past in this book and what happened to him and his family.  What he had to endure as a child was also horrific and something I wish no child had to go through.  I was so glad to see that he had Leif, Jack, and Kara to lean on when he was younger and then in turn had Hindley as he got older.

I would definitely recommend this book/series to everyone.  This book had everything you might be looking for in a love story.  This series will for sure make you laugh, cry, swoon, yell, and even might make your panties melt. ( I know I won’t think of Hello Kitty the same way again….LOL )  I will definitely be continuing on with this series when Dana’s story comes out in Moto Boy!!!!

~Jennifer H.

•••••••••••••••••••••••••

Skater Boy

add-to-goodreads-button31

My Skater Boy

add-to-goodreads-button31

•••••••••••••••••••••••••

buy-it-here

Skater Boy Cover

Amazon/ Amazon CA / Amazon UK / Barnes & Noble / Kobo

My Skater Boy Cover

Amazon/ Amazon CA / Amazon UK / Barnes & Noble / Kobo

•••••••••••••••••••••••••

excerpt

SKATER BOY (X-Treme Boys Series, Book 1)

–Hindley–

Sensing my anxiety, Skater Boy headed toward my bedroom door but I didn’t want him to leave, not yet. I had an overwhelming need to touch him so I reached out and caught him by the arm. His muscles were defined and hard and I held on longer than I should have. His eyes looked down at my hand then back up to me.

“Hey, I just wanted to say thanks for last night. I really appreciate you taking care of me,” I said. I could see him working hard, trying to figure out if I was telling the truth or not. I’d been right about his height. He was tall, over six feet, but my five foot eight stature seemed to match his perfectly.

“Why do I feel like that might have been one of the hardest things you’ve ever had to do?” I raised my eyebrows in disbelief, shocked at how well he already knew me. I prided myself on not needing anything from anyone, so words of gratitude from me were few and far between.

“Probably because it was,” I answered, pushing past him and through the door on my way to the bathroom, feeling every bit as vulnerable now that I was fully dressed as I did lying next to him in nothing but my underwear. Somewhere deep inside, I wished I was back there, though, back in bed with him, relishing how beautiful he was.

•••••••••••••

MY SKATER BOY (X-Treme Boys Series, Book 2)

–Rory–

Today was the day I’d dreaded forever, the day I realized I was the source of Hindley’s pain and anguish. It truly was me I had to protect her from, not all the others threatening to harm her. The only way I could do that now was to leave her alone. I bolted out of the elevator, running to my room as fast as I could, afraid I may actually vomit in the hallway before getting to the bathroom. Losing Hindley wasn’t an option, but the choice wasn’t mine to make. Suddenly, that one realization, the fact I was no longer in control, scared me more than anything I’d ever known.

•••••••••••••••••••••••••

about-the-author

Kay Author Pic

Facebook / Goodreads / Website / Instagram

Kay Manis lives in Austin, Texas with her husband, daughter and five pound Chihuahua affectionately named “Tiny.” When not writing or researching you’ll find Kay reading a good book, eating out with friends or napping.

Kay’s biggest goal in writing is to amuse, inspire and entertain. If she’s done that for you then she says she’ll always consider herself a success.

•••••••••••••••••••••••••

Giveaway

Enter here for a chance to win one of these awesome prizes!!!

~$10.00 Amazon Gift Card from Kay Manis

                          ~eBook copy of It All Started With A Lima Bean by Kimi Flores

     ~eBook copy of Take A Chance by Annalisa Nicole

     ~eBook copy of Keep Me Safe by Elaine Breson

                            ~6 “x 6” vinyle decal “Reading Is My Escape” from Frills & Freckles

~eBook of Not Alone by Amber Nation

Click here —–>> a Rafflecopter giveaway

•••••••••••••••••••••••••

Hosted by:

EJ Button

One comment

Leave a Reply

