REVIEW**~**Perfect Lie by Teresa Mummert

perfect lie

Sometimes love burns so hot in your veins that it consumes all rational thought. That’s why Brock and I never had a chance.  I had to start my life over. College was my chance to become someone new. I changed everything about myself to fit in, but one person saw through my facade. The attraction between Abel and I was undeniable, but I still hadn’t healed from the painful secret I carried around with me. Abel struggled to get me to face my past in order to move forward. In doing so, he revealed a secret of his own; one that changed everything I thought I knew. A secret that would bring Brock back into my life and force me to face the truth of what really happened the day I lost him.

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

review

**ARC received in exchange for an honest review**

4 Stars!!

Review Perfect Lie!! Someone wants me to review this story without giving anything away?? Well, I am going to have to go with a short and sweet review here, to not spoil anything. I will start by saying I couldn’t put this book down. As I sit here and reflect on why, I can say that it’s because of the unknown and how well the story flowed. Throughout the whole story I was waiting on the bomb to drop. And it did!! Nothing like I expected… but I will get back to that later.

First, how I felt about the characters. The story revolves around Delilah(AKA Lie and Kettle) and Abel(AKA pot and the drug dealer) with a touch of Lie’s past mixed in, which contains Brock. I don’t have a whole lot to say about Brock other than he is Lie’s first love and you need to read the rest on your own.  Then, what can I say about Delilah other than she is a push over. I spent most of the book grinding my teeth because of how frustrated I was with her. She let everyone tell her what to do. Just once I wanted her to tell someone to F off. Especially her mean room-mate, Trish.  And I guess she did that to Abel but he was the one person that had her best interest in mind(most of the time).  At times I did feel like Abel screwed with her head too much, though. I even got confused a few times over whether he had feelings for her or not. How about stay out of Trish’s bed, Abel!!!!! But overall he was a funny, sarcastic, and protective guy. My favorite part of this story was the dialogue and Lie and Abel’s banter. They didn’t hold back with each other and the things they said to each other had me chuckling many times.

As you can see, this story frustrated the hell out of me and made me laugh(great mixture), and like I said before, I COULDN’T PUT IT DOWN! The flow and the writing style is great.  And it was probably one of my favorite reads by Teresa, UNTIL!!!! Yep, the end shocked the hell out of me and I wasn’t a fan. I actually went back and reread it 3 or 4 times because I didn’t totally understand it all at first. I never expected it and it was a great way to end it but it just didn’t do it for me. But, that is totally just personal preference. Most people will probably love it. This was definitely a 5 star book for me until that last 5-10%, and please don’t let my opinion deter you from reading this book because it is still an excellent book 🙂

~Jennifer L.

Perfect-Lie-ON-SALE-TODAY

buy-it-here

Barnes & Noble  ~  Kobo  ~  Amazon

about-the-author

“I was a Russian spy at the ripe age of thirteen, given my uncanny ability to tell if someone was lying ( I also read fortunes on the weekends). By sixteen I had become too much of a handful for the Lethal Intelligence Ensemble (L.I.E.). I was quickly exiled to the south of France where I worked with wayward elephants in the Circus of Roaming Animals and People (C.R.A.P.). I was able to make ends meet by selling my organs on the black market for pocket change and beer money. At the age of twenty three I decided to expand my horizons and become a blackjack dealer in Ireland. I loved the family atmosphere at Barney’s Underground Liquor Lounge (B.U.L.L.). People couldn’t resist the allure of Liquor up front and poker in the rear. Eventually I became tired of the rear and headed off to the United States to try my hand at tall tales. That is what brings us here today. If you have a moment I’d like to tell you a story.

(This bio is not to be taken seriously under any circumstance.)

Teresa Mummert is an army wife and mother whose passion in life is writing. She is the author of the New York Times and USA Todaybestselling novels White Trash Beautiful and Suicide Note. Born in Pennsylvania, she lived a small town life before following her husband’s military career to Louisiana and Georgia. Check out her website for samples and updates! TeresaMummert.com”

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TeresaMummert

Twitter: https://twitter.com/TeresaMummert

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5214793.Teresa_Mummert

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Teresa-Mummert/e/B005ZSVJMA/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1386381916&sr=8-2-ent

Leave a Reply

