REVIEW**~**Chica Bella by Carly Fall

Chica Bella
Landon “Blackhawk” Walker is ready to get out of the Navy SEALs. He has seen and done enough, and can’t wait to get to Cabo San Lucas, Mexico where three tasks await him: get back into civilian mode, take a boat out to the El Arco Rocks, and win back the heart of the woman he lost because of his career.
Maya Gonzalez has tired of the heartbreak that comes with Landon’s deployments year after year. When he walks back into her life, she cannot deny her heart, despite her reservations.
As they lose themselves in each other and the beauty of Cabo, their passion is rekindled once again, but Maya knows that one phone call means deployment for Landon, putting an end to their reunion, and possibly their relationship.
goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
review
**ARC kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review**
3.5 Stars
I have to start by saying I really hadn’t heard of the book or author until I was contacted for a review.  I was pleasantly surprised with this book and author.  This is a novella…only 57 pages, but I thought the author did a really good job creating a complete story in such a short book.  Most novellas lack something, whether it is character development, plot development or they tend to just feel rushed, well let me tell you this novella wasn’t  like that.  I was happy, that with this novella, I felt we got a complete story in such a short read.
This novella truly is a read that if you have a short amount of time to read and are looking for something without a lot of drama or angst, this is the book to read.  It was a quick and easy read with a little bit of steam ;)In this story we meet Landon ( I love the name By the Way ) who is a Navy SEAL and has been for 17 years.  He is ready to get out and start a new life as a civilian.  The story starts with him on “leave” and he has decided to go to his favorite vacation spot….Cabo San Lucas… What makes this his favorite spot is Maya.  She is a native who lives there with her family and works at a local hotel bar.  They had met 3 years ago and he continues to go to her when he is on leave.  This story shows what it is like to be involved with a man in the military.  I felt that the author portrayed an accurate account of feelings when it comes to loving a man in the military and he is deployed for action.  I felt the connection between Landon and Maya, you could really feel that they truly loved each other but extenuating circumstances made them wary of moving forward.  I was glad to watch this couple reconnect.I would recommend this novella to anyone looking for a straight forward second chance love story with a little steam but will leaving you smiling in the end 🙂

~Jennifer H.

buy-it-here

AmazonDecadent Publishing  ~  B&N  ~  ARE  ~  Kobo  ~  Author Website

about-the-author

I am a wife, a mother and a slave to Nicky the dog.CarlyFall

I love to laugh, I think chocolate and wine should be considered their own food group, and I wish Christmas happened twice a year.

I love hearing from readers, so please send me an email at carlyfall@gmail.com, or connect with me on Facebook, Goodreads or Twitter.

One comment

  1. Jennifer,

    I’m sorry for the delay in stopping by. We’ve been moving and I’ve been without internet. Thank you for taking the time to read Chica Bella, and writing the review. I’m so glad you liked it!

    Have a wonderful holiday!

Leave a Reply

