BLOG TOUR**~**Rock the Beat by Michelle Valentine

RockTheBeat_BT_Banner

Twenty-year-old Holly Pearson never dreamed that while working at her father’s motocross track she’d run into the walking, talking definition of trouble in a sexy, RockTheBeat

tattooed package—Trip Douglas, the man sent to evaluate the track for a possible investment opportunity. Holly makes no attempt to hide the fact she despises Trip, but she learns to be civil toward him when he offers to help her land the man of her dreams.

Trip needs a break from the crazy rock-and-roll lifestyle he’s been living for the past few years. With his Black Falcon band mates settling down with marriage and babies, Trip peruses an investment opportunity in motocross, something he’s always been passionate about. Hiding his celebrity status, Trip infiltrates the new business posing as a dirt bike rider training for the X-Games. The only obstacle is the owner’s daughter, Holly. She’s a real ball bustin’ Ice Queen, and she’ll do whatever it takes to make the deal fall through. Trip soon discovers that winning over his new enemy is the key to gaining a partnership in Mountain Time Speed Track.

Knowing he’s the expert on getting laid, Trip ropes Holly into becoming his ally by helping her score a date with the man she’s crushing on. The problem is, the more time Trip and Holly spend together, the more they uncover the undeniable attraction between them. Soon they both realize that even the best laid plans go to hell when you find you’re falling in love with the enemy.

**Book THREE in the Black Falcon series. Can also be read as a stand-alone novel**

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

review

**ARC kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review**

Well let me say that I think this book was my favorite of the series so far.  I have loved all the books, but for some reason this one was just AMAZING!!!!  My only real complaint is that I wish it would’ve been longer.  This book was a really quick read, one because it seemed shorter then the other books in the series, but also because once you start this book you won’t be able to put it down.  I read this book in less then a day.  This is the 3rd full length book in the series and what an addition it was to this series.  Rock the Beat is the story of Trip Douglas, Black Falcon’s Drummer, and Holly.  One thing I really liked about this book was that it was completely separate from the other books.  We don’t actually see the other band mates until close to the end of the book, which I was completely fine with.  In Rock My Bed I was a little put off that it ran concurrent with the time frame of  Rock the Heart because it didn’t feel like that is was only Riff and Aubrey story.  In this addition we totally get only Trip and Holly’s story.  Tyke does pop here and there but the main focus of this story is Trip.  What I absolutely LOVED about this book was the drama factor was pretty mild, which to me was quite refreshing.  Yes there was an ex who caused some trouble and some secrets that went untold for awhile, but once things came out into the open we didn’t get the over dramatization where someone runs for the hills.  The drama is actually over pretty quickly!!!!!

The story begins pretty much where Rock my Bed ends and the band is on a short break.  Trip is looking for something to pass his time while on hiatus.  He has an interest in Motocross Racing so he is looking into investing in Holly’s dads track.    To say that Trip and Holly don’t hit it off right from the start is putting it mildly.  There was a situation that happens prior to them officially meeting that kind of sours Holly on Trip, but she doesn’t even really know it’s Trip.  I know thats confusing but you will understand once you read the book.  So through the course of the book we see Holly and Trip growing closer to each other.  I loved that once they got to know each other better they both started letting their walls down.  There is so much more that I could say about this book but I don’t want to spoil it for anyone.  If I talk about the best parts of this book, then I will give way to much away.  You will definitely want to experience this book and Trip for yourself.

I fell for Trip from the very first book.  I knew he story was going to be great and it was.  Once he sheds he tough guy exterior he is such a sweetheart.  I love how strongly he was willing to protect Holly and her friend Max.  I am having such a hard time expressing my love for Trip.  He is just one of my favorite characters.  As for Holly….I liked her character but I will say that she kind of annoyed me when it came to her ex Jackson.  I wanted to smack her quite a few times for being so dumb when it came to him and who he really is.  I was glad to see that she finally grew some “balls” and stood up for herself and Max.  I ended up loving her character in the end.  Speaking of Max….he is what every person wants in a BFF.  He was so loyal to Holly and did whatever he could to protect her even if it caused him harm ( You’ll get it once you read the book ).  I was so glad to see things work out for him in the end 🙂

Even though the other band mates aren’t in this book very much, I really didn’t miss them.  I thought this story was strong enough on it’s own without focusing on the band.  It was nice to get the recap of what Noel, Lanie, Aubrey, and Riff have been up to.

If you are a fan of Michelle Valentine’s and the Black Falcon series then you for sure don’t want to miss this book.  And as always this book will melt your kindle.  There were some pretty steamy parts 🙂  I would definitely recommend this book!!!!!

~Jennifer H.

5 B's

 

excerpt

“I’m Trip Douglas. It looks like you and I will be getting cozy while you show me the ins and outs of this place.”
I stare down at his hand. Ugh. This is so not happening to me. Our family business is going down the freaking toilet and I have to depend on the guy who thinks with his dick to pull us out of the hole? Maybe the investor can send someone else? Anyone else! No way is some rich, old dude relying solely on Trip’s judgments of the place to make a huge financial commitment? This guy can’t be trusted with something so important. This guy can’t stick with the same woman for five minutes, let alone see such a huge business deal through.
Trip wiggles his fingers at me. “Come on. They won’t bite.”
Dad needs this partnership to work for the sake of the track. He told me last week how important it was for this business to get it. If it doesn’t go through, we’re in big trouble.
Reluctantly, I take his hand. It’s warm and rough against my own skin and it’s hard not to think about the way he felt pressed against me last night as he gives it a couple of quick shakes. “Holly Pearson.”

 

buy-it-here

Barnes & Noble  ~ 

 

about-the-author

Michelle A. Valentine is a Central Ohio nurse turned New York Times & USA Today bestselling author of erotic and New Adult romance. Her love of hard-rock music, tattoos, and sexy musicians inspired her erotic BLACK FALCON series.

Blog:
http://michelleavalentine.blogspot.com/
Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Michelle-A-Valentine/477823962249268?fref=ts
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/M_A_Valentine
Goodreads Author Page:
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6540645.Michelle_A_Valentine

Leave a Reply

