REVIEW**~**One Breath by Suzanne Cummings

one-breath_draft2.0

Chloe’s life should have been perfect; rich parents, all star brother and gorgeous boyfriend but in the end none of it really matters.
When she looks in the mirror after the life she was fighting for falls apart, Chloe is just a shadow of herself. Feeling like the last piece of her is slipping away, she decides to do the only thing she can…she grabs her camera and she runs.
Years later she is still pulling herself together, trying to fulfill the promises she had made to make her life her own. When she meets a guy that fits perfectly in her new life, she starts to allow herself to be happy. She finally finds herself surrounded by people that love and support her for who she really is and not who she pretends to be.
But just when she lets herself breathe, her past creeps in and shatters her all over again. Drowning in guilt and loneliness, will Chloe ever truly believe that she deserves the life that she wants? Will she be able to finally find the strength that she has always needed to stand up and fight or will she let her past dictate her future?
Breathe Chloe, just one breath.

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

review

**A copy was kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review**

3.5 Stars

I have to start by saying that I have mixed feelings about this book.  When I was asked to read and review this book, I was instantly intrigued by the synopsis of the book.  It sounded like a book I would really fall in love with.  Well I will say that I did enjoy this book, but I didn’t love it.  The main reason that this book didn’t WOW me was because after starting this book and getting sucked in, it turned out that this story was a love triangle.  I am not a huge fan of triangles but it doesn’t completely deter me from reading a book, I just like to know in advance or at least get a hint of it from the synopsis of the book.  Now with that said this triangle wasn’t all that bad.  The heroine ( Chloe ) Wasn’t technically together with either of the guys, just dating them.  So this made things more tolerable for me to read.  One thing I thought throughout the whole book was that I really didn’t understand why the triangle was brought into the storyline.  This is a story that I think could’ve been executed much better without the triangle in it.  Enough about that, even with all that said, like I said before I did enjoy this story.  I thought the flow of the book was really good and the characters were very well developed.  This book is set up a little different then any I have read before in that the timeline for the story is over 2 months but every couple of chapters we are thrust back into the past.  Each of those chapters leading us up to what happened on that tragic night.  I think it would’ve been better had the “past” chapters been all at once in the beginning  to set up the story and then showed the present time and what was happening now…..maybe it’s just me.  You’ll have to read the book to decide for yourself.

As for the characters of this story….I liked Chloe, but when it came to the triangle part of the story she kind of bugged me.  She was very wishy washy and wouldn’t ask questions when she should’ve.  A lot of that stems from her self esteem….Chloe was a broken shell of a person because of her mother (who was absolutely horrible) and the tragic accident that happened in her past.  I really didn’t blame her for the way she was.  I was glad to see that by the end of the book she was starting to stand up for herself and what she wanted out of life.  I really can’t say a whole lot more about Chloe without giving the main secret away about this story.  Marcus and Reed were great leading men.  I had my favorite right from the start and I am glad to see that he was the winner in the end 🙂  Both of these guys cared so much for Chloe.  Marcus showed his attraction right away where as Reed shied away from it for a while.  Marcus was your typical “good” guy and Reed was the typical “bad” boy, who had a secret.  I was also glad to know I figured out his secret pretty much right away.  I like when that happens 😉  So at this point I would just have to say that you are going to have to read this book to see who she choses and what Reed’s big secret is.

As for other characters in this story…Kat and Sara were great friends.  I loved Kat…She was just wonderful.  She was funny, sarcastic and loyal.  Chloe was lucky to have her as a bff.  Sara was also very loyal to Chloe, evident by a decision she makes later in the story.  These two were great support systems for Chloe when she really needed it.  We were also introduced to Dylan (Chloe’s BF in past) and Sean ( Chloe’s Brother )  I really wish we would’ve gotten more from them.  I can’t say anything else because that would be a spoiler.

I know that this review is probably kind of vague, but I really can’t say to much without giving to much away.  This story was truly a love story with a twist to it, but it was also a story about a girl trying to find out who she is and what she wants out of life.  As for the ending of the book….I felt it was kind of abrupt or more like a to be continued type ending.  Yes we get the HEA with the couple but something happened at the end that would lead me to believe that there might be another story coming.  I guess I’ll have to wait and see.  I would recommend this book to anyone who likes love triangles and a love story with a secret twist to it.

~Jennifer H.

buy-it-here
Amazon

One comment

Leave a Reply

