BLOG TOUR**~**Skipping Stones by J.B. McGee

 
They say there are five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.

Not everyone will grieve in this order, nor will everyone go through every stage. It’s during the stage of denial when Alex Hart meets Andrew Foster. He takes her one-step closer to acceptance: the stage when new, meaningful relationships are formed. The stage when the realization occurs that this is now the new state of normal.

Just when Alex thinks she is on her way to healing, she enters the bargaining phase. That’s the phase where you wonder what you could have done differently. You wonder “what if?” Specifically, what if the ones you loved hadn’t left you?

Leaving…this is what makes heading off to war so difficult and frightening for Alex. She knows all too well what it’s like to be the one on the losing end of life, which is why she’s made it her personal mission in life to save as many lives as possible. The extreme high she gets from treating trauma victims turns into Alex’s own form of therapy, or so she thinks.

When faced with her world being turned upside down, Alex may just find that her true therapy is in the one who has always saved her.
 
review
**5 Heart-wrenchingly Beautiful Stars**

I don’t even really know how to write my review for this book.  I have so many different thoughts and feelings going on in my head and heart right now.  This was my first book by JB McGee.  I have her This series on my kindle but I haven’t had a chance to read it, but when I saw the blurb to this book I just knew I had to read it right away.  It totally captured me.  Plus I LOVED that it is a standalone.  There are just so many series out there that it is so refreshing when I find a standalone, and let a lone a standalone that is as wonderful as this book.  This book will take you on an emotional roller coaster.  There were times while reading this book that I was smiling and swooning, but then by the next page I was crying my eyes out and my heart was breaking.  I loved how JB made you feel apart of Alex’s life.  I was totally invested in her life and all the things she went through.  This book does deal with a pretty tough subject matter, but it was so beautifully written, that you can’t help but be sucked in.  I will say that this book is a very CLEAN book, as in there is no sex in the story, but I have to say that this story doesn’t call for sex.  I think that it would’ve been wrong to add that into this story.  There are just some books and stories that sex can actually take away from a story and I feel that this is one of those books.  Now I will admit I am one of those people who enjoy reading about sex in my books but let me tell you, you won’t miss it in this story.  The amount of emotion and feelings that are expressed in this book are strong enough that you really don’t think about there being no sex.  I could probably go on and on about this book but I just think that everyone needs to experience this book for themselves.

This story is about a girl named Alex.  When we first meet Alex, she is 15 yrs old.  She is going to spend the summer with her grandparents like she does every summer, while her parents go on a 3 month vacation to Europe.  That is when things go horribly wrong for Alex.  Through this book we got a very accurate portrayal of what a person goes through when something horrific happens to them.  This book is the emotional journey of Alex going through the 5 stages of grief and how she copes and handles many different situations.  Like I said before this story was so beautifully written that you feel everything Alex felt….every emotion!!!!  In the mix of everything going on in Alex’s life she meets a 17 yr old boy named Drew.  Drew was absolutely adorable.  He was so sweet to Alex and was such a strong shoulder for her to lean on.  You can tell through the beginning of the story that Drew is also broken some how and that he is hiding a secret.  We did eventually find out all about Drew’s past and let me tell you it was just as heart=wrenching as Alex’s.  But his past never stopped him from being there for Alex.  I loved them together, I liked how she felt at peace with him.  To me this couple was very believable and I could totally feel their connection.  As the story goes on and they are separated, we still follow Alex and everything she is doing to be a stronger person and overcoming all of her grief.  This story expands over many years, so that in the end Alex and Drew are in their 30’s.  I loved the ending of this book….it was great to see how they turned out as adults and what became of them as they got older.

Even though this book had a love story between Alex and Drew, this book to me was so much more.  I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking for an emotional read with a love story built in.  You will for sure need tissues handy with this book.

~Jennifer H.

5 B's
I received an ARC copy of this book for an honest review

5 Stars

I don’t even know where to begin. I feel like I’ve been riding a roller coaster of emotions from the moment I started this book. And what a ride it was! JB wrote a deeply moving story based on loss, love, and faith. These main themes flow though the story of Alex. One minute I’m smiling and the next I’m a blubbering mess. I love it when books make you feel so much! That is what Skipping Stones did for me.
This is the story of Alex and Drew. But I believe the main focus is Alex and the people that surround her; providing her with a foundation of love, support and faith.
Alex has lived with many losses in her life, but somehow she manages to find strength to keep on living. She finds it through her family and through her faith. She also realizes that people are brought into our lives for a reason and Drew entered her life during a time she needed it.
There is a love story here, but it’s not your typical one. It progresses over time and its a beautifully written journey. There are so many facets to this story that, as the reader, pull you in.  You want t be a part of Alex’s life and watch her grow and find who she is as a person.
There is a strong amount of faith built into this story and it is a key element to Alex and Drew’s life and how they merge together.
And Drew, oh boy Drew, he is an amazing man. He gives his heart completely and you fall in love with him. From the moment you meet him,you know he is special and has so much love to give.
As for the other characters in this story, Papa and Meemaw, they add the power of love and faith that people need in their lives. When so much happens in ones life, they help you understand that God only gives us what we can handle. An incredible sentiment that lends itself true in this story.
I feel like there is so much more to say, but I can’t eloquently put it in words the way JB did. All I can tell you is that this is a moving story that has you believing in the power of love and faith and how they are connected together. But please don’t take my word for it. Read it for yourself. I think this story allows us each something unique to take from it. It’s that kind of book. What I got from it may be something different from what you’ll get. So enjoy the journey of Alex and Drew, enjoy their time at the creek skipping stones, enjoy their promises,enjoy the power of family, enjoy the story as they grow into adults, enjoy how second chances are so important in life and please enjoy how life evolves.
I absolutely loved Skipping Stones, it moved me and it is a story that will stay with me. Thank you JB McGee for honoring us with this wonderful tribute to your grandparents and how they touched your  life. I’m so glad you shared what you learned from them with us. I can’t say enough about this story. Read it and savor it – it’s that good!

~Shannon
buy-it-here

Amazon

Author Links
A Note from J.B. McGee 
about-the-author
 

J.B. McGee was born and raised in Aiken, South Carolina. After graduating from South Aiken High School, she toured Europe as a member of the 1999 International Bands of America Tour, playing the clarinet. While attending Converse College, an all-girls school in Spartanburg, South Carolina, she visited Charleston often. It quickly became one of her favorite vacation spots. She met her husband, Chad, during Christmas break her freshman year, and they married in 2001 and she moved back to her home town. 

In 2005, the couple welcomed their first son, Noah. J.B. finished her Bachelor of Arts degree in Early Childhood Education at the University of South Carolina-Aiken in 2006. During her time studying children’s literature, a professor had encouraged her to become a writer.

In 2007, she welcomed their second child, Jonah, and she became a stay at home mom/entrepreneur. In 2009, the found out their two children and J.B. have Mitochondrial Disease. In 2011, a diagnosis also was given to Chad. Please take a moment and learn more about Mitochondrial Disease. Awareness is key to this disease that has no cure or treatments.

J.B. McGee and her family now reside in Buford, Georgia, to be closer to their children’s medical team. After a passion for reading had been re-ignited, J.B. decided to finally give writing a shot. Broken (This Series), is her first book and first series. 
 

Top 5 Things I like in a hero:

1.     Confidence and the ability to take control.

2.     I have a thing for guys with dark features, and it’s an added bonus if he has beautiful blue eyes.

3.     Imperfect.  I don’t want a guy that is perfect.  I want to see his flaws, what makes him real and attainable.

4.     He finds girls that aren’t sticks attractive.

5.     I think I could have a book written with no hot sex and be okay with that if the romance and the gestures the guy makes are genuine and sweet.  I am ultimately a hopeless romantic, and I don’t think hot sex always equates to romance.

Enter to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card or one of 3 JB McGee Swag Packs here —–> a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

