BLOG TOUR**~**Very Bad Things by Ilsa Madden-Mills

tour banner

Title: Very Bad Things (#1 Briarcrest Academy)

Author: Ilsa Madden-Mills

Release date: September 9.13.2013

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Born into a life of privilege and secrets, Nora Blakely has everything any nineteen-year-old girl could desire.  She’s an accomplished pianist, a Texas beauty queen, and on her way to Princeton after high school.  She’s perfect…

Leaving behind her million dollar mansion and Jimmy Choos, she becomes a girl hell-bent on pushing the limits with alcohol, drugs, and meaningless sex.

Then she meets her soulmate.  But he doesn’t want her.

When it comes to girls, twenty-five-year old Leo Tate has one rule:  never fall in love.  His gym and his brother are all he cares about…until he meets Nora.  He resists the pull of their attraction, hung up on their six year age difference.

As they struggle to stay away from each other, secrets will be revealed, tempers will flare, and hearts will be broken.

Welcome to Briarcrest Academy…where sometimes, the best things in life are

Very Bad Things.

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

Watch the Trailer HERE

My Review

“…life is full of bad people, broken people, sad people, betrayed people, twisted people, and people with secrets and scars the world never sees. Yet, it is also full of people who love each other. People who are happy.”

Very Bad Things…just that title is right up my reading alley 😉  This story was actually nothing like I expected.  Or, actually, I really didn’t have any expectations, I guess,  but the title just made my naughty mind go into overdrive. My BAD!!!  But, anyways, I very much enjoyed Nora and Leo’s story. It touches on love, betrayal, honesty, humor, trust, and some truly messed up family issues.

“I’ve got some problems, and you’ve only seen the tip of the ice-berg. My crazy goes deep.”

So, at first I was thinking, Nora is one screwed up girl but the more I read, the more I saw that yeah, she is odd, but it’s not her fault. She has been used and abused in awful ways. If I was her, I would’ve also told everyone to Fuck Off, like she did!! Loved her and that feisty attitude of hers. Strong female characters are one of my favorite things about a book and Nora is awesome.  She has put up with a lot of shit and other than being a tad bit unstable, she is bad ass. Lol!!

“My secret hobbies include people watching, composing lists, and knife throwing.”

And then we have Leo…Leo is YUMMY!!! Sebastian, too, in his own little way.  Sebastian and Leo are brothers and Leo is also Sebastian’s legal guardian. They first meet Nora at a Briarcrest Academy orientation where Nora does her thing and tells everyone where they can go and what they can do 😉

There is an instant attraction that goes on with Nora and Leo that night but Leo is determined not to acknowledge it. He is not a relationship kind of guy. This then starts a whole mess of I want you, no I don’t want you fights, and I thoroughly enjoyed their back and forth banter. Leo wants her one minute and the next he is pushing her away. But Nora doesn’t do the go home and whine and cry thing, she gives the shit right back to him. You go girl!! Told you I loved her!!!!

And along with this romance or lack of romance situation, we are also pulled in to what has gone on in Nora’s past and where that will take her. It did get very sad a few times but then Sebastian’s humor would be a great pick me up from the sadness. His character was perfect! He was a great friend and a perfect little annoying brother that always had Nora and Leo’s best interest in mind.

Overall, a very entertaining and enjoyable read that I give 4 Book Bitch stars to, and recommend you all check out 🙂

4 B's

~Excerpt~

Leo Resists Nora

As if he’d made a decision, he pulled me out into the quiet hallway. Once we were alone, he said, “Now, about last night—” he stopped, appearing stuck on what to say.

“Yeah?”

He took two steps away from me, like he needed some space between us, like what he was going to say was difficult. He ran his hand through his hair furiously, pulling on the ends a little. “Nora, look, I think you’re a pretty girl, but there won’t be anything between us.”

My face flushed because I had acted inappropriately last night. Like a slut, really. Yet I didn’t regret it. And then there was my bad list. I wanted him for my meaningless sex. Still.

“Because you think I’m too young.”

“Yes.” He blew out a breath. “I’m sorry if I come across as a prick here, but I don’t want you to get the wrong idea about me. I don’t do serious relationships ever, and you deserve something good, not just a quick fuck.”

I stared at his full lips, not holding back. “I like it when you say ‘fuck.’”

tour-teaser-202x300

Buy it HERE!!!

Smashwords  ~ Amazon

*About the Author*

Ilsa Madden-Mills is a loving wife and mother, a loyal friend, and a teacher. When all that is done, she writes. Obsessively.

She spends her days with two small kids, a neurotic cat, and her Viking husband. She collects magnets and rarely cooks except to bake her own pretzels.

When she’s not typing away at a story, you can find her drinking too much Diet Coke, jamming out to Pink, or checking on her carefully maintained chocolate stash.

She loves to hear from from fans and fellow authors. Check her out on Facebook or her author website.

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/authorilsamaddenmills

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/ilsamaddenmills

Author Website:  http://www.ilsamaddenmills.com

Giveaway!!!!

Grand Prize:  1 Signed Paperback, $25 Amazon Gift Card, Custom Made Very Bad Things Necklace

Plus, 10 ebooks of Very Bad Things by Ilsa Madden-Mills

Enter here ——-> a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

