BLOG TOUR**~**Beautiful Chances by Alicia Rae

Title: Beautiful Chances
Author: Alicia Rae
Genre: Contemporary Romance 18 & up
Publication Date: September 10, 2013
Cover Designed By: Okay Creations
Event organized by: Literati Author Services, Inc.

Banner

Cover
After losing her parents and sister in a tragic car accident, Lily distances herself from those still around her. As she solely focuses on her work, she refuses to form any emotional attachments in fear of struggling through another unbearable loss.
…until Kyle enters her life with his possessive and overbearing personality. Instead of running, Lily finds herself drawn to him. Helping her on a path to healing, Kyle stands by her side and lends her his strength.
A bond is formed, but it is tested when the unthinkable happens.
Can taking a chance on love conquer all?

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px
Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00071]

Jennifer Harried’s Review

** An ARC was kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review **

Let me start by saying that this book was quite the enjoyable read.  I found myself smiling and giggling through most of the book.   I liked how the author showed the true side of grief.  She didn’t sugar coat it and/or make it go away quickly.  We follow the journey of Lily trying to get her life back after the tragic loss of her whole family.  Now I know you are probably thinking…depressing right?!?!  But let me say this book wasn’t depressing at all.  Yes the parts where Lily relives the accident are sad, but they aren’t lingered on so it doesn’t bring the whole mood of the book down.  I think Kyle was also a great addition to Lily’s life.  He was her ray of sunshine on a cloudy day.  It was great to see how Lily grew throughout the course of the book.  This book definitely kept me entertained.  I was hooked from the very first page all the way to the very last.  The author even added a bit of mystery and suspense into to the story (she only touches and hints that there is something coming.  I think I have it figured out, but I guess I have to wait until book 2 to know if I am right.  That part of the story is not finished in book 1.)  I felt she gave us just enough mystery to keep you wanting to turn the page.  It worked, bc I couldn’t seem to turn them fast enough.  I kept having this feeling that something bad was going to happen.  Of course I’m not going to tell you if something happened, you’ll need to read the book to find out.  I will say that I really enjoyed that this book wasn’t chocked full of unneeded drama.  To me that is refreshing!!!

As for the main couple of the story…Lily and Kyle.  What fantastic characters the author created.  One thing I did have to keep reminding myself about was their ages…they are both early-mid 20’s but at times their conversations and behavior was that of someone in their 30’s.  They were both very mature for their ages.  Lily was a broken shell of a person.  After her family is tragically taken from her she carried a lot of guilt and decided to run away to Florida, to try to heal.  What I think Lily learned  through this story is that you can’t runaway and hope that your problems won’t follow you, because they always do.  She stumbled upon Kyle just by happenstance.  Kyle was great….he was actually almost to good to be true.  In the beginning I kept thinking that he was hiding something and that his motives weren’t true, but that was not the case.  He was such a strong support for Lily throughout the book.  What I loved the most about this couple was that they were a functional couple…they stayed together and worked through their issues.  We don’t see that very often in books these days.  Now don’t get me wrong they had their fair share of issues come up, but they dealt with them together.  I loved watching their relationship grow….i felt the speed that they went on was very believable.  I am excited to see where book 2 takes their Journey.

I will give you a heads up this book does end on a small cliffhanger.  It isn’t that bad of one that you will lose sleep but it was enough to keep you wanting more.  I am curious to see what Lily will do and what her answer will be.  Want to know what I am talking about…then you will need to read this book.  Thankfully Book 2 is coming out October 29th. 🙂

I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a love story that also deals with grief and getting over your fears, but also likes a little suspense to keep you on your toes.  This book also had just the right amount of steam.  I loved Kyle’s Alpha/Sexy side….he sure knows how to talk dirty…. LOL 😉

4 B's

Buy it HERE!!!

Barnes & Noble  ~ Amazon

About the Author

Alicia Rae is a Contemporary Romance Author who lives in Dekalb, Illinois, with her husband and threeAuthor Pic beautiful boys. Alicia has a passion for reading all types of romance, writing to bring a story to life, and photography.
Thank you to my dear sister, Kels, who showed me a few years ago how much I truly missed reading. And to my loving husband, for not throwing away my Nook, and planting the seed of writing into my mind. I am forever grateful. Xo
Readers, words cannot thank you enough for supporting me along this incredible journey. I hope you enjoy my novels as much as I do writing them. I thank each and every one of you.
Believe in yourself and follow your dreams…

Facebook |Twitter |Goodreads| Pinterest

Giveaway!!

Enter here for a chance to win a Kindle Fire ——-> a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

