REVIEW**~**Haven From the Storm by Sarah Dosher

Haven-e1364011886469

“If you’re going to make me cry, at least be there to wipe away the tears…”

Most were asleep in their beds the night Lily Grace’s entire world was ripped apart, leaving only darkness and torment in its place. The only remaining person she depended on abandoned her without a second thought…or so that’s what Lily has believed for the past four years.

Dean Haven has returned for one reason—to win Lily’s love again. He’s already broken her heart because of the demons that haunt him. Can his desire for Lily keep him from succumbing to those demons again?

Dean has no idea what awaits him when he tries to fight his way back into Lily’s life. Everything he remembers has changed, including Lily.

Is love enough when you’re forced to weather the storms life has blown your way?

Due to content and subject matter, suggested for readers 16 years of age and older.

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

Jennifer Harried’s Review

**4 Solid Stars**

What an interesting and emotionally charged book this was.  This is the type of book that really pulls at your heartstrings.  What Lily and Dean both went through in their lives was horrible.  These two both came from horrible parents.  Well I guess I can’t say they were all horrible, it sounded like Lily’s mom was ok but really didn’t stand up for herself and just took what Michael gave her.  Dean’s mom on the other hand was just a coward and left right after he was born and he never knew his father because he died in a drunk driving accident before he was born.  So see if it wasn’t for Grandma Violet and Easton, Lily and Dean would’ve had no one growing up.  If that doesn’t tug at your heart then maybe knowing the amount of abuse that lily has to endure from her father will.  What this poor girl had to live through was horrible.  I don’t want to say to much about the story because I don’t want to take away from the feel of the book.  You really just need to read this book.  I will say that it was a really good book.  This book kept me interested all the way through.  The author even threw in some little surprise tidbits towards the end that I didn’t see coming.  This was a fairly quick read.  I was able to finish it in a day.

Lily…..oh my goodness what to say, my heart broke for her most of this book.  It started right away in the prologue and continued to break for all kinds of reasons as the story continued.  Like I said before what Lily has endured in her life I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy, but it was great to see her come out the other side a stronger person because of it.  I was so happy to see that she was willing to fight for herself and what she wanted and loved in her life.  Lily was also a stubborn person, which sometimes I wanted to smack her and say just let Dean help.  I understood that she was just protecting the ones she loved but sometimes you need to protect yourself as well.  As for Dean….I have mixed feelings about him.  I liked him but he really pissed me off in a certain part of this story.  I truly believed that his feelings for Lily were genuine but he was his own worst enemy.  I can’t explain what I mean you just have to read the book.  I will say that I was happy that Lily made Dean work for her forgiveness, she didn’t just jump into his arms when he comes back into town, even though she wanted too.  It was nice to see her protecting her heart from being hurt again.

Adley, Derek, and Grandma Violet were fantastic side characters.  Derek was always good for some comic relief when things got a little to serious, but he also wasn’t afraid to tell you what an jerk you might be.  Adley was a sweet soul who was a great support for Lily.  I would love to read a story about her and Derek in the future 🙂  Grandma Violet was such a loving person.  She took Dean in when he was born and raised him from birth.  But she also took in Adley when she had nowhere to go.  And when Lily needed the support she was there to hold her hand through whatever she needed.   As usual there are those characters that we hate….well Michael and Mindi were those characters in this book.  Michael was Lily’s father and he was just the scum of the earth.  And Mindi, she is just a tramp without a clue.  What she did to Lily was deplorable.  I loved when Lily confronted her and took her down a notch.

So yes I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a friends to lovers emotional  love story with just  a bit of suspense to keep you turning the page.  I have to say that I really liked the epilogue to this book.  I liked that we got a glimpse of the future.

4 B's

Buy it HERE!!!

Amazon

About the Author

Sarah Dosher was born and raised in rural Oklahoma where she currently resides with her cowboy husband and twins (one cowboy and one cowgirl).

She is addicted to books and The Golden Girls. Her love for reading inspired her to write her first novel, Haven from the Storm. She is currently working on the continuation of the Storms of Life Series – Before the Storm a prequel novel was published August 2013 and the final in the series, Sanctuary from the Darkness, is set to publish early 2014. Dosher’s first contemporary romance, titled A Blue Tale, will be released December 2013.

One comment

Leave a Reply

