BLOG TOUR**~**So Much It Hurts by Melanie Dawn

SMIH updated cover

Life is full of uncertainty, so what happens when a what-if from your past collides with your present?

Kaitlyn Thomas, a weary wife and mother, is taking a much needed getaway with her friends. All she wants to do is relax and rejuvenate on her weekend escape to the beach. Having a drink at the bar with the girls sounds like the perfect way to unwind. That is, until Kaitlyn hears a familiar voice from the stage that shakes her to her core. She grapples with her memory until Chris King, the lead singer of the band, walks up to her and eliminates the questions in her mind.

Chris King…the misunderstood bad boy who once saved her in ways that no one else could.

Kaitlyn’s friends beg to know the story behind this mystery man. Forced to revisit a painful past from which she has spent years trying to heal, Kaitlyn’s recollection of Chris awakens intense feelings that she has kept buried deep inside her heart. Has time changed him, or is he still the same person Kaitlyn fell in love with so many years ago?

Marriage vows are sacred, but temptation is a powerful thing.

Seeing Chris again has caused a war between her head and her heart. In the end, which one will win the battle? Facing a difficult decision, Kaitlyn just wants to be sure of one thing when she walks away from this weekend—no regrets.

 

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

My Review

“Michael was my best friend. He was the one I’d stood at the altar with and vowed to love, honor, and cherish for life. He was the father of my child. I trusted him and depended on him. He was everything I needed, and nothing I deserved.”

NO! NO! NO! I am having a temper tantrum over here. I did not want it to end like that!!! Do you hear me, Melanie Dawn, you just broke my heart and made me ugly cry!!! And this doesn’t happen!!! She must have caught me on a bad day. I have never ugly cried over a book. Get pissed and put the book down, or a few tears, yes, but NEVER an ugly cry. This story was so much more heart wrenching than I was ready for. And, that ending….Grrrrrr!!! So, since no one warned me about the emotional toll it would take on me, I will warn you all…BE PREPARED to hurt and cry 😦

This is sorta two stories in one. It is all based around Kaitlyn Davenport. We start off the story with her being a stay at home mom in a failing marriage. Most of us have been in her place at some point. You feel like you are nothing but a mom and wife, and have no other purpose. It’s cook, clean, bathe and do it all over again, day after day.

Then on a weekend getaway with some girlfriends, to help her feel like herself again, she runs into a long lost love, Chris King. This is where my emotions started to get all confused, and it just got worse and worse from there. We are then sent back in the past by 8 years to get the story of how she meets this amazing guy called Chris King. He is the person that my heart ached for.

“Why couldn’t I just tell my mom the truth about Trevor? I already knew the answer to the last question. I would have to admit what a doormat—a weakling—I had let myself become.”

Oh how she infuriated me in this part!! The young Kaitlyn allowed herself to be mentally and physically abused by an asshole ex boyfriend(Trevor) that needed his nuts cut off and shoved down his throat. And Chris was just the man to do it for her. But, in the end, that is what ends up taking him away from her L Still following?? Hope so! Chris had been tagged the “bad boy,” for some past misunderstandings, and so he is the kid that everyone thinks they should stay away from.  But yet, he was Kaitlyn’s hero and an amazing guy!

“His words pierced my soul and took away all the pain my heart had suffered. It was in that moment I realized I was falling in love with him, although according to Allison, I wasn’t even supposed to know his name.”

So, now, we are brought back to the present again and Kaitlyn is faced with the fact that she is married and has a child, but her long time love and the guy that she has never been able to forget, has been thrown back into her life. I couldn’t even imagine being put in that circumstance, and there is no way in hell I could judge her on any choice she made. No one could say that they would have done things different or made better decisions than she did, without walking in her shoes first.

“My heart has always belonged to you, but you belong to someone else. I just can’t take it.”

My heart still aches just writing this review. I swear, I couldn’t go to sleep after finishing this story. I was lying in bed going over all the events of this story in my head and still tears were running down my face. I couldn’t even talk about it without the tears coming down. It sticks with you. It’s not a book you just put down and walk away from. It will be lodged in my heart for a while. All I have to say to Melanie is….AMAZING!!! You did it!! You made me do the one thing that no other book has ever done…cry over and over and over. And I can’t thank you enough for sharing this emotional roller coaster with me. It’s going to be a long time before I can forget one sentence. It’s when my heart officially cracked open. That is when I knew I couldn’t take it anymore. If it hadn’t have been the end, I still would have had to stop, because I had nothing left in me at that point. I was emotional worn out and done.

You got the point, people?!? I hope so. Go! Read! Cry! And enjoy 🙂

5 B's

Watch the Trailer HERE!!

 Buy it HERE!!!(Seriously, Buy it!!!)

Barnes & Noble  ~ Amazon

About the Author

Melanie Dawn is a thinker, a dreamer, and a hopeless romantic. When her head isn’t in the clouds, she Melanie Dawn Author picspends her time as a jack of all trades to her family. Melanie resides in the hills of North Carolina with her husband, her three children, and her cat. She enjoys lazy summer afternoons cruising around the lake on the pontoon boat with her family.

Melanie graduated from UNC-Chapel Hill with a BA in Psychology and earned her MA in School Counseling from Appalachian State University. She spent the first six years after graduate school as a middle school counselor. Those were years she deems as some of the best years of her life. That is, until she had children of her own. The last seven years have been spent as a stay-at-home mom. She has learned some tough life lessons, like what the inner absorbent pellets of a diaper look like scattered in the washing machine. She has also learned the strength of the willpower of a two year old lacking a nap. Through it all, Melanie has learned how to roll with the punches and appreciate the time she has been able to spend at home with her children.

Now that her last child has started Kindergarten, Melanie is ready to add a new chapter in her life. That chapter begins with her debut novel—So Much It Hurts.

Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Goodreads

Giveaway!!

You also can enter here for a chance to win one of MANY awesome prizes ——–> a Rafflecopter giveaway

One comment

Leave a Reply

