**Review**Near and Far(Lost and Found #2) by Nicole Williams

970079_568237529865805_1920255732_n

**NEW YORK TIMES & USATODAY Bestselling Series**

There’s optimistic. And there’s Jesse Walker.

If he wasn’t so charming, his sunny disposition and incessant grin would get old. Fast.

Falling in love with the broken girl who had at first seemed immune to anything resembling love was the best thing to happen to Jesse since the Walkers adopted him when he was five.

As Jesse’s life continues at the ranch and Rowen begins making her mark in the Seattle art community, they wonder where the middle ground is. Or if there even is one.

As push comes to shove, they’re forced to make choices neither are eager to make, and Jesse and Rowen have to face what their lives might look like without the other.

Can two people with such tragic pasts and different presents expect a promising future  together? Whatever the answer, they’ll need a lot more than love to make it.

*Recommended for mature readers due to moderate content and language.*

 

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Jennifer Harried’s review

**4.5 YUMMY COWBOY STARS**

Let me start off by saying that I LOVED this book, so much so that it kept me up until 3am to finish it.  I couldn’t put it down.  I had to know how it all turned out.  I will say that I LOVED LOVED book 1 Lost and Found, so I was a little nervous when I heard Nicole Williams was writing a sequel to Jesse and Rowen’s story.  While I was also excited to get more Jesse and Rowen, I was scared of what the author would put them through or if I wouldn’t love the characters as much as in the first book.  Well let me tell you I am so happy to say that this book was almost just as great as book 1.  There is one spot towards around like the 30% where a new character is introduced and I will say that had this one character not been brought into the story this would’ve been a 5 star read for me.  The reason for the small deduction is because I really didn’t like how Jesse and Rowen handled this character/situation.  The author made Jesse so oblivious and I felt that the Rowen from book 1 wouldn’t have let Jesse get away with how he handled things.  I realize that Rowen loves Jesse with all her heart but she made her look a little weak because Rowen kind of swept things under the rug just because Jesse would give her a look.  To me in real life if my loved one was acting like Jesse was, I would for sure call him out on it.  But enough about that, I just wanted to explain why this wasn’t a 5 star read for me.

I loved the storyline of this book.  Near and Far takes off right where Lost and Found ends.  Rowen has left Montana to go to art school in Seattle and Jesse is still helping his family on the Ranch in Montana.  This book shows how everyday life can really play havoc on a relationship that has that many miles in between each other.  It shows how Jesse and Rowen struggle to keep their relationship strong when some outside forces are trying to tear them apart, but in the end Jesse and Rowen ended up being their own worst enemy.  Rowen was still a fabulous female character.  She has grown so much as a person, with Jesse help, that it was wonderful to read about.  Jesse…..well he is still one of my favorite Book Cowboys!!!!!  He was still very swoon worthy in this book, even with that small section, that I wasn’t happy with him.  Another great thing about this book was we got to see some reoccurring characters, like Garth, Josie, Rose and Neil.  I felt Rosie and Neil are amazing parents, they were there when Jesse needed them and gave some really great advice, to help him through things he was working on in his head.  Josie was her same old self in this book, except she was a little oblivious also when that new character comes into play.  I kind of wanted to smack her and say Wake Up!!!!!  Then we have Garth…..I fell in love with Garth in Lost and Found and this book just solidified those feelings.  He was amazing in this story.  He made me laugh, but I was also in awe of his character.  Who knew he would turn out to be such a great support for Rowen and Jesse.  The advice he gave them two was astounding.  I was also really glad to see that his friendship with Jesse was repaired in this book.  I can’t wait to read his story next, I am hoping he gets his HEA.

Near and Far also introduced us to 4 new characters…Alex (Rowen’s Roommate), Jax (Rowen’s TA/art friend), Jolene (summer help on the ranch) and Mar (homeless woman Rowen befriends).  I’m really not going to say a whole lot about these characters, because I think it would give to much information to the storyline away.  Just know that the ONLY character I liked was Alex.  She was hysterical.  I loved her and Rowen’s banter.  Plus she was also a great support to Rowen throughout the book when it came to Jesse.  The other three characters I couldn’t stand.  I understand they were all pivotal to the storyline but I wanted to drop kick each one of them in this story.  I will say that I was quite proud of myself, because Ms. Wiliams put a little twist in this book regarding one of the new characters that you don’t see coming, but I actually guessed what it was before it was revealed.  I love when that happens.

I would DEFINITELY recommend this book/series to anyone looking for a great love story with a very sexy cowboy.  This book had all the makings of a 5 star read for me.  It evoked so many different emotions from me, I laughed, I smiled, I swooned, I was angry, and I cried, I love when a book opens up all those different emotions.  If only that small section of the story had been left out.  My only other negative about this book would’ve been that I wish it had an epilogue, just a small little chapter maybe set a couple years down the road.  Just to finish Jesse and Rowen’s story.  Well maybe we get that information in Garth’s book.

Favorite Lines :

Sometimes love was about compromise, and sometimes it was about sacrifice.  Most times, it was a little bit of both…..Jesse

“For you, I’m a weak, weak man.  I’m so weak for you that you could break me with one word.  You could end me with one look.  You could ruin me with one touch.”…..Jesse

I wasn’t losing myself to him; I was finding myself in him…..Rowen

“Part of loving someone is letting them do their own thing and trusting them.  And part of loving someone is protecting them from the dark places and people.”….Garth

“Win, lose, on top of the world, or at the bottom…..I’m with you, Rowen Sterling.  To the very end.”…..Jesse

“That was just one bad day out of thousands of good ones you’ve lived, Jesse.  One weak day to countless days of strength.  Don’t let one day set the backdrop for the rest of your life.”…..Rose ( Jesse’s Mom )

“I don’t know much about these kinds of things, but it seems like you don’t fall out of love with someone because of their fuck ups.  It seems like if you really love someone, you love them in spite of their fuck ups.”…..Garth

Buy them here!!!

Lost and Found (Lost & Found, #1)

Near & Far (Lost & Found #2)

About the author

I’m a wife, a mom, a writer. I started writing because I loved it and I’m still writing because I love it. I write young adult because I still believe in true love, kindred spirits, and happy endings. Here’s to staying young at heart *raises champagne glass* . . . care to join me?

Nicole loves hearing from her readers. You can contact her at nwilliamsbooks@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

