**REVIEW**Amends: a love story by Shanda Fisch

COVER IMAGE

AMITY is a prickly high school outcast who dreams of a better life in college. A tragic accident puts her future on hold. When she attends an elite university three years later, she falls for Laird, the enigmatic son of a notorious billionaire. Soon she learns that Laird, who grew up just a few miles away from her home town, has a secret that could hold the key to her past and future. And she has a secret of her own.

LAIRD is devastated when he loses his mother at age eighteen. Shortly afterwards, he fights with his girlfriend on the way to a party, and they drive straight into a nightmare. They walk away from the accident, but the other driver isn’t so lucky. Three years later, Laird is still haunted by that day. When he connects with Amity, hoping to make some kind of amends, he feels something unexpected. And terrifying.

Will Amity and Laird build a relationship that transcends the past? Or will secrets, lies, and guilt tear them apart?

**Releasing August 31st**

goodreads-badge-add-black-38px

Jennifer Harried’s Review

**ARC kindly provided in exchange for an honest review**

4 Emotionally Charged Stars!!

I have to start by saying that I feel lucky to have received an ARC of this book….it is quite the gem.  I really enjoyed this book.  It kept me intrigued all the way through.  I was surprised when I first started this book that it is setup like 2 separate books.  Book 1, which is chapters 1-10.  Then Book 2 is chapters 11-30. I have honestly never seen a book set up that way.  But with this particular book it totally worked.  I also thought that even with the two separate books,  this story continued to flow together.  There wasn’t any break and pick up that just didn’t make sense. Truthfully I think this story really needed to be told in the two separate parts.  I felt that this book was very well written, even though there were some editing mistakes (missing words) they weren’t big enough to take away from the book or my enjoyment of the book.  I can’t say a whole lot about the storyline because it would give to much away.  I will say that this story will definitely pull at your heartstrings.  The author does an excellent job at portraying the real feelings and situations that one experiences when you experience what both Amity and Laird go through.

Amity was an amazing female character.  What this girl went through in her life, I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy.  So many tragic things happened to her, that any person would truly have a reason to just give up, but she doesn’t.  She kept on going no matter how many lemons and bad things were thrown her way.  I loved that no matter what happened or what situations she was put into she kept her head held high and was proud of herself and her accomplishment.  She had a dream to go to Adams University and she wasn’t going to give up on that no matter what.  I will say that I was a little disappointed in her choices when it came to Ethan.  I knew from the beginning Ethan was bad news.  Then we have Laird….first off I think he has a cool name.  I have never seen that name before.  I loved the originality of the name.  Laird was a complex character.  My heart also went out to him during this story.  Yes he made some bad choices as well which led to something really bad happening, but he truly had a crappy home life.  His father was a disgusting pig, in my book.  What he does to Laird was deplorable and unforgivable in my opinion.  Laird truly is a really sweet guy who was trying to make amends for all of his mistakes.  Although there was one mistake that he continued to make, that I just wanted to smack him upside the head and tell him to wake up.  To know what I am talking about you will need to read the book.  Laird and Amity truly make a great couple.  They shared a bond that no one else could relate to.

I would definitely recommend this book.  If you are looking for an emotional love story about two broken souls who just want a better future, then this is the book for you.  Besides the small editing issues, I really don’t have a bad thing to say about this book.  It is a very quick read, I was able to finish it in a day.

About the Author

Author Shanda Fisch is a New England native who fondly remembers the exhilaration and seemingly auendless possibility of young adulthood. She enjoys the New Adult genre because she can relive the excitement of her late teens and early twenties without all the angst and uncertainty.

When she’s not in front of the computer, Shanda can be found playing with her one-year-old daughter, running with her three dogs, and attempting to garden.

Her first novel, Amends: A Love Story, will be released on August 31, 2013. She is working a sequel to Amends tentatively titled Regrets.

Website  ~  Blog  ~  Book Trailer Facebook  ~  Sneak Preview

One comment

Leave a Reply

