**Blog Tour**Are You Mine by N.K. Smith

AYM Blog

Human connection? Who needs it?Are you Mine by NK SMITH ebooksm

Ever since she can remember, wealthy but weary Saige Armstrong has felt different from her peers in Pechimu, New Jersey. With only one good friend to her name, she has navigated the complicated halls of high school and is now faced with the timeless question: Now what?

Fox Harrington, a fun-loving, socially charismatic graffiti artist uses his passions to color his world how he wants it. He knows exactly where his life is headed. That is, until he meets Saige.

A summer project links the two together, making a tentative friendship bloom into romance, but despite their affection for each other, fundamental beliefs and ways of thinking threaten to destroy all they have built.

“These moments in life are the best there are. They’re heavy with emotion, messy with the what-ifs, and frightening with the unknowns.”

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Jennifer Harried’s Review

This book was a SOLID 4 stars.  It was quite the enjoyable read.   The storyline was interesting enough to keep me intrigued throughout the whole book.  This is a coming of age love story.  Two people who are trying to find their way in the world after high school.  I think I had a smile on my face throughout the majority of the book.  I loved these two characters.  Fox and Saige were complex characters and I enjoyed discovering all their layers.

Fox and Saige were from two different worlds but as we read through the story we actually find that they are two very similar souls.  Saige…I have to say really kind of ticked me off in the beginning.  I thought she was very judgemental and snarky,  but as the story unfolds we find out why she is like she is.  The background of her family life is a tragic one and I can completely understand why she needs to protect herself and not become to attached to anyone.  It was really great to see her change throughout the book…mostly in part to Fox.  Even with that said Saige was also her own worst enemy.  I felt so bad for her towards the end….she was just so determined that she didn’t deserve to be happy or that happiness is always taken from her.  Fox on the other hand was an amazing character throughout the whole book.  I fell for him from the very beginning. We find out that he also has a sad family situation,  but he is such a strong person he doesn’t let it bring him down.  I loved how he saw all the good in Saige and never gave up on her.  His joke telling was fantastic…it totally kept me giggling throughout the book.  Even if they were just your basic joke book jokes.  I loved that he used them to lighten the mood and to help Saige smile more.

I liked some of the secondary characters.  Myka and Valentine were great.  Another couple showing the world how opposites really do attract.  Gage on the other hand I thought was a total douche throughout the whole book.  I didn’t understand how Fox could be friends with him.

This book, although was a sweet love story and at times very lighthearted, also covered some very serious topics.  I don’t want to say what they are because it will take away from the story, but I will say that the author did a great job showing the not so great side and the real effects these topics have on people.

My only negative towards the book is that I felt the ending was a little abrupt.  I would’ve like to have had an epilogue….just to tell us what happens after the Liverpool match.  Otherwise I thought this book was really good.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who’s looking for a somewhat lighthearted, and sweet love story between two people who normally wouldn’t be together.

Favorite Lines:

“I’ll get in trouble a hundred times over if it means I get to spend more time with you.”….Fox

“Don’t hurt me Saige.  I promise if you give me your heart, I won’t break it.”….Fox

“Because every day I think about how lucky I am to have you in my life and how much I love you, and every day I think about how much it would hurt to lose you.  So don’t break the heart I’ve given you.  I swear to god, I’ll keep yours safe too.”….Fox

Buy it Here!!!

About the Author

Based in the American Midwest, N.K. Smith is a Technical Writer for a Fortune 100 company. The author of the Old Wounds Series, Ghosts of Our Pasts, and My Only, she is a mother of two who finds the time to write very early in the morning when the rest of the world is still fast asleep.

An avid lover of history, art, music, books, and people, she is interested in telling stories that speak to the human condition.

Website  ~  Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Goodreads

Leave a Reply

