Review**~**Imperfectly Perfect by A.E. Woodward

IP Amazon GR SW

 Emma, Tyler and Shane have been best friends since they were kids.  Along with their college addition, Rob, the four friends have an exciting life in NYC.  In fact, Emma Sloan appears to have it all.

Despite being happy with her current situation, a big family announcement leaves Emma questioning whether she is truly content with her life.  With her thirtieth birthday fast approaching she vows to find her ‘perfect’ man any way she can.  But Emma will soon discover that the path of true love never runs smoothly and that sometimes, instead of chasing love, you have to wait for love to find you…

 goodreads-badge-add-plus

Jennifer Harried’s Review

3.5 stars

Let me start off by saying that I did like this book but I didn’t love this book.  I thought for being a debut novel it was very well written, but it didn’t have that WOW factor that I look for in a 5 star read.  I guess my biggest problem was that I had a really hard time connecting with the characters.  I did really like Shane, Tyler and Rob, their friendship with Emma was great.  One thought I had throughout this book was that I felt like I was reading Emma’s journal with little snippets of Shane’s POV mixed in.  The last 25% of this book really saved it for me, that is why it got a 3.5 stars.  I really wish what we saw in that last part of the book would’ve come out sooner.

The first part of the book was really all about Emma and the guys and what their life was like, then we get to about the 30% mark and Emma has a revelation about her life and decides what direction she wants it to go in.  So at that point she drastically changes and is all about herself.  I felt that her relationship with Shane, Tyler and Rob really fell by the wayside once she meets Bradley.  I will say that I didn’t like Bradley at all, he totally gave me the creeps from the start.  Emma was a totally different person when she was with Bradley, she was really willing to give up her closest friendships for a guy she just met.  I had a real problem with that, plus if she had such a great friendship with Shane, Tyler and Rob….why couldn’t she talk to them about it.  What also bothered me was she was so quick to move forward with Bradley even though in the back of her mind things weren’t feeling right to her.  She was just so stuck on proving to her mom and sister that she could have what they had.  Then when something happens with Bradley, I finally thought YAY!!  Shane will finally speak up.  Nope, it got dragged on longer.  So by the time Shane’s feelings are brought to light everything seemed kind of rushed.  It almost made it unbelievable.  I believed Shane’s feelings for Emma but Emma’s turn around was a little hard for me to believe.

Now Shane, I thought was a great character, but he was so stubborn.  I get that he just wanted Emma to be happy no matter who that is with, but I wish he would’ve fought a little harder in the beginning when Bradley was in the picture.  I loved that Shane was Emma’s rock throughout their lives, he truly loved her and was willing to do anything for her.

Tyler and Rob were also really great characters, they added some much needed comic relief and support to both Emma and Shane.  I loved that they were willing to stick by them no matter what happened.  They are truly great friends!!!!!

I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a friends to lovers story, with a little drama and some angst thrown in.

**Copy kindly provided by author in exchange for honest review**

Buy it HERE!!!

Book #2 in the series (Imperfectly Real) is set to come out in November.  It will be Tyler’s story and I enjoyed writing it so much more than Imperfectly Perfect.  Here is the Goodreads for that: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18210504-imperfectly-real
Like A.E. Woodward on FACEBOOK
Leave a Reply

