~~Blog Tour~~He Belongs To Me by Theresa Rizzo

TheresaRizzo_HeBelongsToMe_200

He Belongs to Me is a love story . . . a tale of betrayal and deception and of a young mother’s determination to recover what belongs to her.

Forced to leave her baby and tricked into relinquishing her parental rights, four years later Catherine Boyd is back and she’ll do anything to regain custody of her son–even reconcile with the husband falsely accused of killing their son’s twin.

All in the name of love for a little boy, generations of pain and tragedy are exposed in a courtroom drama.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

One day I was reading the newspaper and I came across this article about a young father who was imprisoned because his infant baby died in his arms and he was accused of shaking him to death.  The autopsy showed that the shaking was not the cause of death, the child had an undetected brain problem—or heart defect—I forget right now, but he was acquitted.

I couldn’t help but wonder how a young couple could recover from something as traumatic as that.  The baby died in his hands—how can he NOT feel responsible?  How can his wife/the baby’s mother, NOT blame him.  Her baby’s dead. It’s natural to need to blame somebody—even if it isn’t true.  Sometimes love simply isn’t enough to hold a relationship together. Even though it was a mistake, their baby was still dead. What kind of chance did this marriage have? What would happen to them?

So I wrote a story about it. And I gave their deceased child a twin, Drew. There had to be something MIGHTY compelling to draw this fractured couple back together again and mutual love of another child is the only thing I could think of that might do the trick.

So Drew was conceived and you’ll have to read the story to see if love for their remaining child can bring Thomas and Catherine back together.

jennsreview

When I first started reading, years ago, I loved Nora Roberts’ writing and I am pretty sure I read every book she ever wrote. Nora Roberts writes romance but she writes it with so much variety…paranormal, mystery, suspense…I love it all!! Since then I have been introduced to the Indie world and I LOVE my indies!!! But sometimes I still need that something different. You can write a romance story many different ways but a romance is still a romance and I need that something different every once in a while.  And when I started He Belongs To Me, I got the feeling that I was in for that something different.

In He Belongs To Me, Thomas and Catherine married young and were thrown immediately into parenthood. I can honestly say from experience,  marriage is hard and when you add children and a young age into it, it’s a recipe for disaster. That is what happened to Thomas and Catherine, but it  actually was not their fault. They had some powerful forces up against them, that wanted to destroy their happily ever after.

This story is real and emotional. It touches on subjects of rape, death, love, trust, and betrayal. It’s not one of those angsty, hook, line and sinker books like, I usually read, but it is still sooooo good. You understand and feel every emotion Thomas and Catherine go through as they battle for their child. You stress over whether they can work out their issues and get what is theirs. I found myself on the edge of my seat a few times. And having two little boys myself, that are very close in age to their son, made this even more emotional for me.

In my opinion, these are some horrific situations they go through. But seeing them come out on top, no matter how things work out, made me smile. I need that HEA, especially when the circumstances are real and heart wrenching.  And, I got it!!

Then, what can I say about Teresa’s writing other than I loved it. Every emotion and every circumstance is explained so well. I could see it all in my mind and I could feel it all in my heart. The descriptions and the detail were excellent. Some might think it too much but I enjoyed it. It makes me think a lot of research went in to writing this book.  And the ending…. what a shock to me!! This will not make sense, but it was heart breaking and heartwarming all at the same time 🙂  Happy reading!!!

4 Kisses

Pictures-001

about the author

Theresa Tree Close 2013_0279

Theresa Rizzo is an award-winning author who writes emotional stories that explore the complexity of relationships and families through real-life trials. 

Born and raised in Grosse Pointe, Michigan, she currently lives outside of Boulder, Colorado with her husband of thirty years. She’s raised four wonderful children who are now scattered across the country.

Website  ~  Facebook  ~  Twitter  ~  Goodreads

buyhere

Amazon Ca  ~  AmazonBarnes & Noble  ~  iBookstore 

One comment

Leave a Reply

