*~*Pieces of You by Cassia Leo Blog Tour*~*

blogtour_pieces

blurb

pieces of youThe story that began in the USA Today bestseller RELENTLESS continues. Which team are you on

In Relentless, college student Claire Nixon and surfer Adam Parker each had a painful past too heavy to carry alone. Claire tried to push Adam away, but Adam’s relentless pursuit of her heart and her secrets made her walls come crumbling down.

Though their hearts will never be whole again, Claire and Adam now know they are stronger together than they are apart.

But now Claire’s attending college a hundred miles away from Adam. With their relationship already hanging by a thread, Adam is sent to Hawaii on business.

And rock star Chris Knight is back in Claire’s life.

Chris wants his ex-girlfriend back and he knows just how to get her: only he has the power to mend the final missing piece of Claire’s broken heart. Now Claire must choose between a long-distance relationship with Adam and a second chance at love, family, and home.

New Adult Contemporary Romance: Due to strong language, drug use, and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

amazon_logobarnsandnobleimages sm imagesgoodreads-badge-add-plus

lisasreview

Pieces of You (Shattered Hearts, #2)Pieces of You by Cassia Leo

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

4.5 “we’re all broken, in one way or another” Kisses

I heart my love triangles something fierce…and Pieces of You might be one of my faves. Super angsty, lots of heartbreak and torn emotions, the kind where no decision is the perfect decision and it’s so hard to choose sides. But let’s be real…we all choose sides…

Pieces of You is the second book in the Shattered Hearts series, so if you haven’t read Relentless…I highly recommend you jump on that one. *sigh* Adam…we’ll get to him. PoY picks right up where we left Claire, Adam and Chris – a huge difference from Relentless to PoY is the switch in POV’s. The first book was solely from Claire’s POV, now we have all three (Claire, Adam and Chris) – you know what that means? Three times the fun! It’s a risky move, but Miss. Leo played it very well, I never got confused, it was always clear and concise and considering most of the time the characters weren’t even in the same city, sometimes not even in the same time zone , as each other – it was necessary to keep the flow of the story. I applaud her, I liked the change, it worked for me.

Claire Nixon…my strong little soldier. She’s so fragile but she tries so hard not to let herself break….which is practically impossible given the situations she is faced with. Hard to go into detail without spoiling things…needless to say the girl has plate full and then some. She’s also stuck between a rock and a hard place. I don’t envy her problem – two amazing guys – her first love and the one who loved her even when she thought was unworthy of love…how can you choose between those two options?

‘If there’s one thing I’m great at it’s torturing myself.’ ~Claire

Adam Parker…Adam Adam Adam…ugh this boy…he and Claire were made for each other in my eyes. I love the way he is with her, what he brings out in her and what she brings out in him. They compliment each other in the best ways possible and all the things that threaten to tear them apart just…crush me. It’s not fair *stomping foot* (sorry…can’t help it). I love him…he’s got so many issues, but that’s because he’s just as fragile as Claire is and he’s so much better when he’s with her. He tries so hard too – the potential that they have between them is just amazing.

“Because sometimes you have to suffer without the things you want now so you can have everything you need later.” ~Adam

Christopher Michael Knight…the man, the myth, the legend. He’s a rock god now, but he’s still the boy that fell in love with Claire. I didn’t get a good feel for Chris in Relentless. I didn’t necessarily like or dislike him, but my heart is with Adam so I don’t think it possible for me to love him, at least not in the same way. After reading PoY unfortunately, my feelings stand the same. I like Chris, a lot, don’t get me wrong, and I love all that he does for Claire, but he’s not meant for her. And while I know Claire loves him, I don’t feel like she is in love with him. She’ll always love Chris, she can’t not with all that they have been through. He’s her first love and he’s so much a part of who she is. But…unfortunately that’s all it is for me.

“You may not be mine anymore, but I’m still lucky to have you in my life.” ~Chris

Like I said…I love my love triangles, I love to see that pull, that anguish with ‘who to choose’ – but really, at the end of the day the choice was clear. I can’t lie and say part of me didn’t enjoy seeing Claire and Chris together – it’s hard not to. They have history together, that’s stuff you can’t fake. He loves her so much it ALMOST pushed me onto Team Chris. Almost. But not quite. He’s a doll…great guy and if Adam wasn’t in the picture, I’d be the biggest Team Chris cheerleader on the planet. But I when you fall for Adam Parker…you fall for good.

“Adam, I don’t think I’ve made it clear enough. I was drowning when I met you. I was barely breathing until you saved me. I’m afraid of what will happen to me without you here.”

I love Cassia’s writing. She’s got an insanely talented way of blending these amazing characters that pull on your every heart string, and then while I’m swooning and falling in love, she’ll throw in a corny joke or something that I just can’t help but smile at. It’s like wow…did you just do that to me? Yeah…I think you did…high five. I can’t explain it, it’s like a warm snuggly blanket, it just wraps you up and you enjoy every moment of it, no matter what’s going on around you.

“You’re the best thing that ever happened to me,” he whispers in my ear. “I’ll break all the rules to keep you.”

If I thought Relentless kept me on my toes…pssh! I never saw anything coming with PoY. That’s saying a lot for me because I’m one who likes to figure things out (and I usually do…blame my mom)…but Miss. Leo was still able to pull some stuff over on me. Quite a few unexpected twists and turns, even down to the last chapter. And speaking of the last chapter…hmm…to call it a cliff or not to call it a cliff…that is the question. I knew their story wasn’t over, so I wasn’t expecting it to end – but at least with Relentless we had somewhat of a ‘happy’ yet unfinished ending. PoY…not so much. And then you throw in the damn letter – the letters get me every time…grr…but I’m not mad…maybe anxious? Anxious mixed with a tad of frustration, just because I know who I want her to be with. But the way things are left are honestly what’s best for everyone involved…so while the romantic in me is a little bitter, the logical side of me is really okay with it, which is probably why I’m not mad.

‘In some ways, Claire makes me a better man. In other ways, she makes me want to give up everything just to be with her. I’m not sure if these two aspects of our relationship cancel each other out. All I know is that my love for Claire is quickly gaining on my love for surfing.’

But…logic and romance aside…this book lover needs her HEA damn it! So…while I patiently wait for Book #3, I will sit back and dreamily picture Adam on his surf board…it’s the best alternative I can come up with right now 🙂

‘Most people think that they want spacious homes, but they don’t realize how the emptiness of a large room just amplifies the emptiness in a broken heart. And we’re all broken, in one way or another.’

45 kisses
View all my reviews

giveawayopt2

Cassio has an awesome giveaway – up for grabs we’ve got:

  • 10 ebook copies of Pieces of You
  • 10 signed paperbacks of Pieces of You
  • (2) $25 gift cards to Amazon or B&N
  • 1 Pieces of You Charm Bracelet

Click here to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway

Rafflecopter-Logo

What?  That’s not enough?  Of course it’s not!  What about the GRANDPRIZE giveaway going up for an iPad mini?  Who doesn’t want an iPad mini??

Click here for the Rafflecopter giveaway

Rafflecopter-Logo

about the author

cassia-leo-croppedUSA Today bestselling author Cassia Leo loves her coffee, chocolate, and margaritas with salt. When she’s not writing, she spends way too much time watching old reruns of Friends and Sex and the City. When she’s not watching reruns, she’s usually enjoying the California sunshine or reading–sometimes both.

Check out Cassia’s Website

logo_facebooktwitter icongoodreadsicon

One comment

Leave a Reply

