~*~Blog Tour~*~Lost in Distraction by BJ Harvey

LID Banner

Lost in Distraction (Lost #1)
by B.J. Harvey

Synopsis

In the three years after a horrible crime claimed her family, Elise Halliwell has been alone, shut off from the world in a self-imposed emotional exile. She goes through the motions, finishes high school and moves across country to start college and begin the next step in her pre-destined life.

But her exile is dramatically cut short by the entrance of a dark haired, blue-eyed, smirking man who shakes her to the core, achieving what everyone else before him has failed to do, he makes her feel again.

As much as he wishes it were different, fate has not brought Braxton James into Elise’s life, or has it. Brax has to keep her safe from people in her life who have ulterior motives and may want to hurt her.

Elise has no idea the threat she faces, and Brax wants to make sure it stays that way. But as Brax struggles with getting close to her, he begins to live a lie. Unable to resist the pull that is Elise’s bright green eyes, infectious giggle, and loving heart, he finds it impossible to stay away, so the double life of being Elise’s boyfriend and keeping her safe begins.

Full of twists and turns, danger and revelations that no-one could predict, you won’t be the only one lost in distraction.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Excerpt

Brax

Elle walks back into the living room and places a cup of coffee and a plate full of toast on the coffee table. Smiling at me, she sits down and starts eating. I checked the time when I was in the kitchen. It’s 8 a.m. and my first class isn’t until 10.LID cover

“How’s your morning looking?” she says through a mouthful of toast. I smile at how adorable she is in the morning.

“Well, my day started off great with a hot young brunette on top of me, so no complaints so far,” I say with a grin. She hits my arm while laughing at my comment.

“You know what I mean.”

I smile. Her laugh is so infectious.

“Yes, I know what you mean, hon. I was thinking about going to the gym for a workout before my finance class at noon. Then I was thinking we could go out for a movie and a burger later on. We could meet up with Shay, if that’s okay with you?”

She smiles. “That sounds great. I’d love to meet him.” She leans over to kiss me with her peanut butter smeared mouth. I pull her in tight and lick her lips after our kiss.

“Hmm, Elise and peanut butter. My new favorite breakfast.”

jennsreview

Lost in Distraction…..Yes, I am a little lost, actually. The story has ended and I am so confused about who the bad guys and the good guys are!! Well, obviously, Brax is a good guy but other than that I don’t know. But I will tell you what I do know.

Elise Halliwell(AKA Elle) is just going through the motions of life. Everyone she loved was killed 3 years ago and she doesn’t even know why. But, there is a light at the end of the tunnel for her and his name is Braxton James. Love that name and love him!!! Braxton is amazing!!! His job, along with his best friend Shay, was just to look after Elle. But he can’t help himself and falls head over heels in love with her…WHOOPS!!

The guy really is a dream come true….EXCEPT, he has a secret and it’s a HUGE secret.  I really expected the secret to come out sooner than it did. It was all I could think about throughout the whole story, just waiting on Elle to find out. WHEN WILL SHE FIND OUT??? Not till the end…really!! And I was shocked at how it all comes out….nothing like I expected and so GREAT!!

Brax and Elle’s relationship is very heartwarming, but it also was a little too perfect for me. They have that immediate attraction to one another and things happened very quickly. I can buy that and it does happen, but no fighting?!? That, I can’t believe!! They are in a new relationship and both have a lot of stress on them…they are going to have some issues and they are going to at least disagree a few times!!  I guess I needed a little more emotion. I love when a story makes me feel that the characters are real. I want to feel their emotions and I just didn’t get that connection with them. Perfection isn’t real!!

And then back to that confusion!! I truly did not understand who all the bad guys were and how they all worked together. Maybe it’s just me and I got confused with the names but maybe it was supposed to be that way….who knows!! I loved the way it ended, though. The ending was my FAVORITE part of this story. It was sort of a cliff hanger…. but yet not one of those stress you out and piss you off cliff hangers.  There is a little blurb at the end that gives you some insight into the next book and that satisfied me enough that I can now look forward to reading more about Brax and Elle 🙂

*ARC supplied by the author for an honest review*

Author Bio

Having always loved reading, and having been befriended and inspired by some awesome self publishedBJ Harvey authors and book lovers alike, I decided to start writing my first novel, Lost in Distraction in December 2012. It was a conscious decision that started with a song, then the prologue and then catapulted from there. I love music too, like REALLY love music, if there isn’t music playing, something is wrong. Out and Proud Vampire Diaries fan as well.
I’m also a wife, mother, full-time university student and I do contract work for myself from home.

Author Links

Blog / Goodreads / Facebook

Buy it here!!

Amazon / B&N

And don’t forget to enter the giveaway here ———>  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

