~*~Review~*~Before You Go by Clare James

Before You GoBefore You Go by Clare James goodreads-badge-add-plus

Paralyzed by the past and terrified of the future, Tabitha Kelly is broken.
After a public sex scandal at her college, Tabby moves to a new city with a new school, convinced she can start over. But she soon realizes the changes are not enough. Tabby must take action to help her heal and move on from the past.
And though it sounds crazy, she believes a one-night stand is the best way to take back what’s hers.  If she can choose where, when, and most importantly, who … maybe she can regain control.
First, she needs a willing participant.
She finds more than that when she meets Noah Adler.
Unfortunately, she can’t go through with it. And when she tries to forget about the plan—and the guy—it becomes impossible.
Noah quickly weaves his way into her new life and her heart.  But as he comes dangerously close to discovering her secret, Tabby’s at risk of losing it all.

amazon_logoB&N

jennsreview

This was a quick and easy read for me. I love her writing style and was able to relax and just let the words take me away, but this story discusses some SERIOUS issues. Issues that happen in high schools and colleges but get pushed under the rug and ignored a lot. This story shows you how much it can and does affect people’s lives, though. Kids are cruel and reading about situations like this breaks my heart.

Before You Go is Tabitha and Noah’s story. Tabitha was popular, a dancer and thought she had great friends and a loving boyfriend until one night changed everything for her. Not only did she lose all of that, she lost her trust in others and her self-confidence. So, after months of rehab and a college change she decides to do something to prove that she is in control and makes her own decisions….she goes to a bar to pick up a one night stand. And, lucky for her, she picks up an AMAZING guy, but she doesn’t know just how amazing he is yet. She doesn’t even know his real name until she kicks him out of her apartment that night.

“Oh, and by the way,” he whispers. “The name is Noah. You know, in case you’re thinking about me later. Good to have a name with the face. Don’t you think?”

This is one of those stories that grabs you from the start….the first page had me saying, wow!! It sucked me in and caused me anxiety at every chapter over some situation. Tabitha is BROKEN(my heart ached for her) and Noah wants to fix her, but what Tabitha doesn’t know is Noah was once broken also. At first she fights him tooth and nail but he is persistent. She thinks she doesn’t want a relationship but who wouldn’t want a relationship with Noah Adler. She was bound to give in eventually!! Noah has a messed up past but he has tried his hardest to come back from that and be a better person. And he is BETTER!! He is so amazingly patient and caring plus HOT. With him there is no question of doing the right or wrong thing…he always did the right thing….or at least most of the time 😉

I thoroughly enjoyed reading about their relationship. It was heartwarming. It wasn’t a love at first sight sort of situation, they learned to enjoy each other and love each other as a whole person. Their relationship took me through all those emotions I want out of a story and the writing was easily followed and enjoyed.

But!!! I always hate the but part….I needed more. I felt like it was too rushed and there was so much more to the story that was not resolved in the end. What happened with Jenna??(Jenna is Noah’s ex) What happened between Tabitha and her mom?? I was still left with so many questions!!

*ARC given by the author for an honest review*
View all my reviews

285334_10200205611115922_739539559_n

lisasreview

Before You GoBefore You Go by Clare James

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

*ARC given to blog for honest review*

3 ‘Better than normal.’ Kisses

Tabitha Kelly is fractured…like cracked glass just moments away from completely shattering into a million pieces. Barely held together after the incident that changed her from the bright beautiful dancer to the shell of her former self. Tabs is a mess – rightfully so. She’s been through a trauma…a publicly embarrassing trauma and had to deal with the after effects – that’s rough! She’s lost friends, lost the life that she knew, I don’t know anyone that could go through that unscathed.

Noah Adler is kind, sweet, understanding, and patient. He’s a soothing balm to Tabitha’s troubled soul. He’s quite amazing – without even knowing Tabitha’s story, he just handles her exactly the way she needs to be handled. It also doesn’t hurt that he’s got bright blue eyes, is all kinds of yummy and can say the most wonderful things.

“That’s the problem.” His lips are at my ear. “I can’t seem to forget anything about you.”

They meet in a bar…he’s a means to an end, that’s all. Nothing special. (Ha!) She calls him Holden after Holden Caulfield in The Catcher in the Rye and he calls her Scout after To Kill a Mockingbird (one of my favorite books – so I LOVED that part)…and the rest is history. 😉

‘I hate to admit I spent much of the weekend thinking about him. His smile. Blue eyes. His incredibly sweet personality. His amazing body. But now, when I look at him, all I notice are his full lips.’

I like that Clare James was smart enough to not have Tabitha pouring herself into Noah and ignoring her emotional issues. It would not have been believable, so I appreciated that. And she did build that craving for wanting them (Tabitha and Noah) to be together. I felt that pull – they had chemistry and you could feel their emotions and draw to each other. But it felt brief and abrupt sometimes – I would get there, loving their interaction and then it would end and go to a new chapter. I like the ‘always wanting more’ but I do eventually need that ‘more.’

‘He makes me forget about everything. When I’m around him, I feel normal. Better than normal.’

I liked Before You Go – the story line was different for the most part, the flow and the writing was really good. I can enjoy a quick, hard hitting read as much as I can enjoy descriptive long one – BYG was definitely the former. While a majority of me enjoyed it, I did feel there were some aspects that were grazed over that needed more explanation, especially towards the end. The resolution with Noah seemed rushed (he’s playing the piano in the last scene – I didn’t even know he played piano). There was conflict with her mom throughout the book, but no resolution and yet she was mentioned in the last scene, like it was no big deal.

‘To say my life is bliss would be a gross misrepresentation. It is bliss to the nth degree times infinity.’

I don’t want you to think I didn’t enjoy this book – because I did, which might be why the things I didn’t like frustrate me, cause I never like knowing there were aspects that did gel and stopped me from loving the book. And it was a different read, it was more about Tabitha rather than Tabitha and Noah. That’s not a bad thing, it was a change, a welcomed changed.

3 lips

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

