~*~Blog Tour~*~Bullet by Jade C. Jamison

Bullet Button2

An Epic Rock Star Novel

What if you discover the man you want is toxic?

She tasted a little bit of heaven with him, and now they’ve gone through hell and back, but can their relationship take anymore?

Valerie Quinn is a naïve college freshman when she meets on-the-rise rock star Ethan Richards. He’s an idealistic, handsome, reckless young man, but he’s captured her heart. She doesn’t give up on him and eventually his walls crumble down. By the time Valerie has given herself to him completely, she discovers he’s damaged and may be beyond help. Can she save Ethan and their relationship before he implodes, or will he self-destruct and take her with him?

goodreads-badge-add-plus

•Excerpt•

I decided to get something to drink and then just lie on my bed writing lyrics until sleepiness overcame me.  As I left the bedroom, though, I heard the guys laughing and carrying on in the living room, and I hoped they wouldn’t take it personally that I just wanted to hit the hay.  I was still wearing my robe and the towel over my head, but I was covered from neck to knee and didn’t think much of it.

I walked to the kitchen and guessed they didn’t realize I was there.  Nick said, “I’ll go last.  That’ll give me time to put it to good use.”

Zane:  “You trying to find Angelica?”

“Hell, yeah.  She gives good head.”

cover_bulletEthan:  “What makes you think she’ll wanna fuck your scrawny ass again?”

“They all want Nick again once they’ve tasted him the first time.”

Brad:  “Okay.  You’re fourth.”

Ethan:  “So who’s tonight?”

“Me, I guess.”

Nick:  “That’s cool, though, right?”

“What?”

“Guests.”

Zane:  “Fuck, yeah.  I thought that was the whole point.  If we can’t invite our girlfriends, why bother setting up a schedule or even having the room to ourselves?”

Nick:  “You don’t need a girl to take care of your needs.”

“Maybe you don’t.”

They all got quiet when they heard the cabinet door close and the water running in the faucet.  Brad, ever the gentleman, said, “Sorry you had to hear that, Val.”

I turned around and walked into the living room.  “Please, don’t be.  We’re gonna have to get used to living together, and just ‘cause I’m a prude doesn’t mean the rest of you have to be.”

I got some scoffs from that, but Zane said, “Hey…what’s fair is fair.  You can have guys over too if you want.”

I could tell from the somber feel that dropped over the room that that idea was not okay with everyone.  I wasn’t going to touch it, so I just smiled and said, “I’m gonna go do a little writing and then hit the hay.  I’m tired.”

Ethan said, “Sure you don’t wanna hang?  Bradley here was gonna put a DVD in his laptop.  Movie night.”

“Thanks, but you guys can resume your conversation.”

“We’re done.  Don’t go.”

“Thanks, really.  I’m just tired.”

They wished me good night, and I went to my bedroom.  I hoped they knew I’d meant what I said.  I didn’t want them feeling like they couldn’t talk about whatever was on their minds just because I was there.  I knew they liked sex.  They were young men, for heaven’s sake, most of them still technically teenagers for a few months.  I wasn’t going to tell them what they could or couldn’t do, and sex seemed harmless compared to some of the other activities I knew they engaged in.

Once in my room, I slipped off the robe and put on a short nightie, one that barely covered my bottom.  It was still warm, and I didn’t want to perspire all night in bed.  I draped the towel over the folding chair in the corner of the room and combed out my hair, then lay on top of the bed with a notebook and pencil and started probing my mind, looking for ideas that wanted to be written about.

After struggling with a few lines for the better part of half an hour, I heard a soft knock at my door.  I’d been getting drowsy, so I wasn’t sure if I’d really heard it, but I got up anyway.  I wasn’t exactly decent in my tiny, strappy gown, so I figured I’d just peek out the door to see what whoever it was wanted.  I’d heard the guys laughing at whatever movie they were watching, so maybe they just wanted to ensure that I really didn’t want to join them.

When I stuck my head out the door, I saw Ethan.  Oh, goodness, he looked extra cute in the shadow of our tiny hallway.  His hair was growing out, adding to his ever-mysterious look, and over the past few weeks, he’d been working on a goatee.  I didn’t exactly mind seeing him there, but I wasn’t decent.  I was in one of those positions I knew my dad had worried about.  But that was okay.  It was just my head out the door.  “What’s up?”

“Everything okay?”

“Yeah.  Why wouldn’t it be?”

He was quiet for a moment.  “Can I come in for a second?”

I hesitated.  “Um…sure.”

I think I took his breath away.  He must have been expecting to see me in the robe.  When he walked in, he took me in for longer than he should and closed the door behind him.  But then he said, “Seriously, Val.  Sorry you had to hear that shit in the other room.”

I smiled.  “Not a big deal.”

He got close and wrapped his hands around my waist.  “Only one girl I’m thinking about right now.”  Oh…I hoped that was true.  He brought his lips to mine in a soft, sweet kiss, but that only lasted for a few seconds.  We turned passionate quickly, and before I knew it, my back was pressed against the wall.  My hands that had been spread against his chest soon slithered up to his neck, and I slid my hands into his hair.  His hands moved to cup my ass, and his touch sent a shiver through all my nerve endings.  I was beginning to feel sensations that I’d rarely felt, but I was enjoying them.

He lifted me up, and in a natural motion, I wrapped my legs around his so he was pressing right into tumblr_may5wgBf0G1qk0u0go1_250me.  Oh…his penis was hard and pressing into that one area…the one that I’d had to ignore and deny my entire life.  I had put it into a figurative box, locked away, trapped, and the only time I’d had contact with it was in the shower when I cleaned it.  I’d only ever touched myself in the most clinical of ways, blushing when I’d do a breast exam and thinking about upcoming science tests or the cold weather when I’d wash my vaginal area.  But now it was awakened.  I’d felt the first tinglings before when I’d gotten overly friendly with Brad, but this was an intense sensation.  He was pressing into me, and it made me feel desperate, urgent.  I didn’t notice at first that my breathing had changed.

Ethan broke off our kiss and looked me in the eyes.  He looked like an animal, fierce and needy, and I wanted him.  Just seeing him like that made every single fiber in my body stand at attention, and I wondered if I looked like he did.  I thought I saw an inkling of a smile in his eyes.  “You like that?”

I knew what he was talking about, but the words were gone.  I was breathless.

He ground himself into me, and I gasped.  Oh, yes.  Oh, hell, yes.  I liked it.  But I still couldn’t say anything.  He knew, though, by the sharp intake of air into my lungs that I more than liked it, and he buried me in a kiss again.

I knew then what my body was made for, and now I knew why my mother and father had tried so desperately to hide it from me.  Sweet heavens above, I wanted nothing else now, and as that boy’s manhood continued to awaken my hidden desires, I knew my virginity was soon to be forgotten.

Ethan broke off the kiss again to look at me.  “God, I want you.”

My voice sounded foreign to my own ears—throaty, hoarse.  “I want you too.”

I saw it register with him, and I guess I was lucky he didn’t take me right then and there.  But he restrained himself.  “Not now.  Your first time…can’t be a quick fuck up against a wall.”  His eyes looked tender when he said, “Soon.  When the time is right.”

Now I felt desperate, but I hoped I didn’t sound brazen.  “When will be the right time?”

His eyes searched mine.  “Soon.  I promise.  I’ll take care of it.”  He kissed me again and then held me close, my legs still around him.  He nuzzled my neck, and that didn’t help.  Then he looked at me again.  “I should go.”

And then I wanted to ask him why he had to leave…why we couldn’t just make love right then and there.  But I knew…I knew I didn’t want to lose my virginity when there were three other guys in the next room in an apartment with paper-thin walls.  I was going to have to trust Ethan.  He had a plan—I could see that in his eyes.  He lowered me back down to the floor and held me close, willing his hard on to go down, but he kissed me once more.  Then he touched his nose to mine.  “Soon.  But get your rest.”

Yeah.  Like I could sleep now.

♥My Review♥

Bullet, Bullet, Bullet…let’s see, where should I start?? How about with the fact that this story surprised me and made me question what I like in a story! Recently two things have been bothering me about books….long books and the overuse of the virgin and the bad boy scenario. Well, this story had both of these things and I still LOVED it!! I feel like sometimes the long ones are either over descriptive or overdone but every single page of Bullet entertained me. Nothing about it felt drawn out to me. I was sucked in at every chapter, wanting to know what would happen next and whether Valerie would finally get smart and get rid of Ethan’s lying and cheating ass!!

Can you say LOSER!!!!

Bullet is Valerie’s story. It is the story of how her life got to where it is now and how she fell in love. It switches back and forth between past and present but most of it covers the past 3-4 years of her life. This helps you to understand how she ended up where she is. I thought the use of the past/present change made the story so much better. I would be all anxious out about what Valerie was doing in the past and then all of the sudden there would be a quick chapter about the present and it would make me even more anxious!! It was like reading two stories at the same time but they were about the same characters. I had many WTF moments while reading it. I swear, I spent most of this book shaking my head and asking Valerie, what are you thinking?? How many times was she going to allow Ethan to rip her heart into pieces?!?!

Grrrrrrrrrr!!!!

Valerie meets Ethan in one of her freshman college classes and they quickly become best friends but Valerie wants more. Does Ethan want the same thing?? Who knows what the Hell Ethan wants!! I don’t think he even knew.  Ethan might not know what he wants but his band mates, Brad and Zane, do and 4Valerie is what they want. So, we have the innocent virgin, raised by a Christian family, who meets and joins a heavy metal band. Yes, the story does get very interesting. It is a crazy roller coaster of emotions as Valerie tries to decide who she truly loves and who she can trust with her heart. I was so sad for her so many times and also very proud of her as the story progressed and she learned to make more mature decisions. Why Ethan??…I said that over and over!! Sometimes you just have to give up on people and he is one of those people. I would call him a lost cause!! LOL

The band consisted of Brad, Zane, Nick and Ethan. And I fell in love with Brad’s character. I was definitely team Brad!!! I usually am a sucker for the bad boy but I broke that rule in this story. See, I told you this one shocked the Hell out of me and made me rethink everything I normally like and dislike about a book!! The only thing I can possibly say that bothered me about this story was at times the dialogue seemed a little immature but Valerie was immature in the beginning, so I think it fit. I highly recommend this story…especially if you enjoy a good love triangle involving musicians. But, be warned that this story contains the usual rock star drama like drugs and cheating. Be prepared!!!

~ Jennifer

5 lips

Buy it here!!!

Amazon

B&N

Smashwords

 

About Jade

Jade C. Jamison was born and raised in Colorado, moved from one city/town to the next, and she’s decided she likes it so much she wants to stay…although travel is not out of the question.  She lives in a big town in Colorado (not unlike Winchester!) with her husband and four children.  She is working on Jade redbecoming a crazy cat lady.  Okay, so maybe not.

Still want more?  Jade has a bachelor’s degree in English Literature and Theater, a master’s degree in English, and a master of fine arts in Creative Writing.  Obviously, she loves school and the student loan folks love her.  She works in human services by day, teaches English and creative writing at night, and—in between playing soccer mom and community leader—writes like a fiend.  Someday soon, she’ll narrow it down to just writing, but let’s get all those kids off to college first.

goodreadsiconlogo_facebooktwitter icon

Website:http://www.jadecjamison.com/

Jade is giving an eBook copy of her book at each blog stop and all you need to do is comment below, plus a Rafflecopter grand prize giveaway: 2 signed autographed copies of Bullet and a $15 Amazon or B&N giftcard

Enter here for the grand prize giveaway → a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

March 25th

Ellie Lovenbooks

March 26th

RomFan Reviews

Kindred Souls Book Blog

Wine Relaxation and My Kindle

March 27th

Jessica’s Book Review

Tyhada’s Bookshelf

Book Crazy

March 28th

First Class Books

Whirlwind Books

March 29th

Reality Bites Book Blog

The Book Avenue Review

March 30th

Stick Girl Reviews

Book Bitches Blog

March 31st

Up All Night Book Blog

The Autumn Review

5 comments

  1. Can’t wait to read this so that I can finally pick a side (Brad or Ethan)! I’ve seen lots of people on Brad’s side, but I have a soft spot for bad boy rockers, so I’m thinking I might not be with the majority 🙂

Leave a Reply

