~~Review~~Traffic Jam by Melissa Groeling

imagesCA1XI76A

Val Delton’s life is spiraling and there’s nothing she can do to stop it. Her dad lost his job, her mom works fourteen hour days to pay the bills and yet somehow there are high-end shopping bags and an iPod in her older sister’s room. Naturally, Val becomes suspicious but her sister’s lips are sealed. Then by accident, she uncovers a dark, dangerous secret hidden behind her sister’s bright smiles and cool indifference. Val has no idea how far and how deep the repercussions of her sister’s secret will reach but she’ll do whatever it takes to keep her family safe. Will she succeed before her sister’s secret destroys everyone she loves?

◊My Review◊

Looking for a YA novel with a kick?? I was asked to read and review Traffic Jam by Melissa Groeling and to be honest,  YA suspense is not my genre.  But I went into it with an open mind and was pleasantly surprised!!

Traffic Jam is a story about some extremely intense life situations. Melissa touches on family dynamics, high school drama and HUMAN TRAFFICKING.   Yes, I said human trafficking and I never expected that one either!!  I kept thinking throughout the story, how is she going to pull this off in a YA book?? I would think this to be a hard subject to write about and she did it with class.

Val and Sam are the main characters in this story but there are many other secondary characters and they were all developed well. Val and Sam are sisters but they are total opposites. Sam is the older and popular sister and Val is the younger and smart one.  Their family is falling on hard times as their father lost his job and their mother is supporting a family of 5 on a baker’s income.

imagesCAEHK5HLEven though Val is only 16, she is a great person. (I just wanted to hug her)  She is concerned about everyone and always wants to do what is right. She starts to notice that something is different about Sam and she is determined to find out what is going on. But what she doesn’t know is that she is about to get herself into something that is dangerous to not only herself but everyone else around her.  And her sister is a BITCH!!! There is nothing nicer I can say….bitch describes her the best.  Sorry, can’t help myself on that one..hehe!

The events that take place in this story were very intense.  There are a lot of life lessons to be learned in this story. And not just with Val and Sam. There are situations that happen also with their friends that will break your heart and make you think. I kept saying, let me read one more chapter and then I will put it down, but one more chapter would turn out to be 2 or 3 🙂 Also, I was so impressed with the beautiful editing of this story.  The dialogue is great and so easy to follow. I could probably count on one hand the grammar errors I saw in this story.  The only thing that bothered me was it started out a little slow but that is just my personal preference. Overall, a great book and I recommend it.

♥ Jennifer

4 Kisses

— Review copy given to Book Bitches for an honest review

Buy it here:

amazon_logo

Leave a Reply

