Virginia Tesi Carey’s review of Checkmate by R.L. Mathewson

 

 

5 stars

I have to start by saying that I am a HUGE fan of R.L.’s books.  I have read every book she has written and absolutely loved every one.  Her books are fantastic!!  I was impatiently waiting for this book to come out because I knew this would be as great as her others.  I have to say- it did not disappoint!

This is the 3rd book in the Neighbor from Hell series.  In this book, Connor and Rory are adults who have known each other since preschool.  From the day they met, they have been taunting and torturing each other to the point that the whole town knows about them and their antics.  In fact, their antics have gone so far as to land them in jail and ban them from places in town, such as stores and restaurants.  Three years ago, Connor bought the house next door to Rory and now they are forced to work together on the same construction project.  Connor comes up with an idea that he thinks will get him what he wants in business and blackmails Rory.  Where their relationship goes from there is very entertaining.  There is so much that could be said about the story but it is best not to give it away.

R.L. is one of my favorite authors.  Her writing style is fantastic and she is soooo funny in this whole series.  The bickering and bantering between Connor and Rory really is hysterical.  I found myself laughing out loud at so many parts of this book.  And the love/sex scenes are steamy!!  All of the characters in these books are great- Rory’s 5 brothers are very funny too and in addition, the Bradford boys that I loved so much in Books 1 and 2, Jason and Trevor, appear in this book and they are as hysterical as ever.

You must read all of R.L.’s books- you will not be sorry.  I do suggest you read them in series order so that you are introduced to the characters in the right order.  While waiting for this book to come out, I messaged R.L. and told her I was having R.L. withdrawals since I read all her books.  Now that I read this one, I have no more to read and I will be having them again until her next book comes out!!  Read and enjoy- you’ll love it!!

 

Leave a Reply

