Interview with author Tammy Blackwell!!!

This is sooo exciting…our very first author interview and it is with the lovely Tammy Blackwell. Tammy is the author of the Timber Wolves  Trilogy.  I can’t thank her enough for taking the time out of her busy schedule for us! Please start out by telling us a little about yourself…likes, dislikes, pet peeves??

Tammy: I like food (especially the kind that is filled with carbs), Joss Whedon, people who are weird, and books. I dislike housework, alarm clocks, and a large percentage of living things. My pet peeves include people who back into parking spaces and people who don’t push in their chair back in after they are done with it.

Housework and alarm clocks…who would ever like those!!  You listed books as a like, so I assume you read along with writing. Do you read books similar to yours or another genre?

Tammy: I looooove to read. Love. It. Actually, if my life were perfect, I would spend the majority of my day curled up in a comfy chair with a good book and something yummy to eat.

When it comes to what I read, it really varies. I tend to get into reading moods and only one type of book for a while. Right now, it’s historical romances, which is just crazy. I didn’t even know I liked historical romances until a month ago! My tastes usually go towards YA of all types and urban fantasy, paranormal, and steampunk romance in the adult market.

Looks like you read a wide variety. I always find it interesting to see if authors read books similar to theirs or not.   When did you first start writing or know you wanted to write?

Tammy: I honestly can’t remember not wanting to be a writer. I think the first time I realized that it was someone’s job to string together words and make a story, I wanted to be the one to do it. In some way, I’ve always been writing, even when I was too scared to try to write a novel. In college, I majored in advertising, thinking that writing ads was a more stable career than writing books. (Turns out, I was wrong. But hey, I got to be a writer and librarian in the end, so it was totally worth the journey.)

Interesting start! I have read the entire Timber Wolves Trilogy and loved all of them so I must ask where did the idea of Scout and the shifters come from?

Tammy: Since I’m about 75% pantster, the majority of the world and story came as I was writing, but the initial idea for Shifters came from a neighbor of mine. I was out for a walk with my mother one evening around dusk. We lived on a mile long country road that only had about 5 houses on it. We popped over a hill to see a man sitting right next to the road, a gun laying across his lap. Turns out, he was on a “coyote hunt”. He told us there was a large coyote running around our area, and he was going to take care of it. Now, I’m not normally an animal activist, but I was somewhat horrified by the whole thing. Why did the poor coyote have to die? What if it had a family? Babies? What if it wasn’t a coyote at all, but a human in coyote form? Huh? Did he even *think* about that? And thus, the idea of Shifters was formed.

That is so cool!! Paranormal romance was one of my first loves when I started reading and I still can’t get enough of them 🙂 So, with that being said, I hope there will be more to come and my last question for you is do you have any plans for another book or series? Can you give us any hints??

Tammy: The Shifters and Seers series will debut with a novella in 2013. The books will take place in the same universe as Scout’s story, but will be more romance-focused and have different points-of-view. The novella, All We See and Seem, will focus on how Jase and Talley got together.

Yay!! I can’t wait to know more about Jase and Talley. They were such an important part of the Timber Wolves Trilogy and I look forward to reading it.

Now, not only did Tammy agree to a quick interview but she is also going to give away an ecopy of Destiny Binds to one lucky winner!!  All you have to do is follow our blog and Tammy’s blog at www.misstammywrites.com and then leave me a comment with your email address.  A winner will be picked on Sunday November 11th!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

